Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Technology

Clinical trials hold promise for world's first insulin pill

Sunday, Mar 30, 2014 - 02:29

Mar. 30 - Scientists in Israel are developing what they hope will be the world's first insulin pill to replace daily injections for diabetics. If it successfully completes clinical trials, the company believes its tablet will transform the lives of diabetics and radically reduce the cost of providing treatment. Debi Bell-Hosking reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

If it passes clinical trials, Oramed's insulin pill could revolutionise the treatment of diabetes for patients who now rely on daily injections to survive. The idea of providing insulin in tablet form has been around for some time, but making it a reality has been difficult because of the destructive effect of digestive enzymes on the medication. To make their tablet work Oramed has had to develop a creative solution. The capsule is wrapped in a unique coating that protects it from breaking down during its journey down the gastrointestinal tract. This coating is acid sensitive - it will degrade only when exposed to the lower level of acidity in the small intestine. Protease inhibitors and an absorption enhancer within the capsule continue to protect the insulin as it crosses the intestinal membrane towards the liver. The liver then helps to regulate insulin secretion into the bloodstream, according to Oramed chief scientist, Miriam Kidron, . (SOUNDBITE) (English) MIRIAM KIDRON, CHIEF SCIENTIST AT ORAMED PHARMACEUTICALS, SAYING: "When we give insulin orally, first pass goes through the liver because it goes from the intestine to the liver. Unlike the injection which first passes through the circulation - and this is the main big difference between giving it orally or giving it as an injection." Director of Endoscopy at Hadassah Hospital, Harold Jacob, says the capsule provides a safe and simple alternative to injections for many diabetics. (SOUNDBITE) (English) DIRECTOR OF ENDOSCOPY AT HADASSAH HOSPITAL, HAROLD JACOB, SAYING: "Very easily taken, very easily tolerated thus far clinical trials have shown that it's very safe and we're hopeful that it will also have a very important therapeutic role in the treatment of diabetes." Oramed still needs to complete clinical trials before the drug can be licenced, but Yanic Cohen, a trial participant, is optimistic. (SOUNDBITE) (English) YANIV COHEN, A TYPE 1 DIABETIC, BEING TESTED DURING DRUG TRIAL, SAYING: "I take three or four shots a day, and with this product you just need to swallow a pill and it takes your blood sugar down." For most patients, an insulin pill will not eliminate injections, but could delay by many years, the need for their use...reducing health-care costs and improving the quality of life for diabetics

Clinical trials hold promise for world's first insulin pill

Sunday, Mar 30, 2014 - 02:29

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)