Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Search for missing plane continues as vigils go on

Monday, March 31, 2014 - 01:43

March 31 - In what's become a routine scene, planes return empty-handed from their search for the missing Malaysia Airlines Flight 370 and families of the passengers continue their weeks-long vigil. Mana Rabiee reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

It's become all too routine. Search planes looking for Flight 370 return home with no sighting of the missing Malaysia Airline plane. It's believed to have gone down in the southern Indian Ocean March 8. Another scene repeated almost every day. Transport officials telling the families of the 239 people on board that the search for the plane will go on for as long as it takes. (SOUNDBITE) (English) MALAYSIAN ACTING TRANSPORT MINISTER, HISHAMMUDDIN HUSSEIN, SAYING: "We find ourselves in difficult position and I repeat: the question families principally want answered is the question we simply do not have the answer to; namely, where their loved ones are and where is MH370." So the families do one of the only things they can do. More than 100 Chinese relatives of the missing passengers have kept vigil at this Beijing hotel for over three weeks. Praying, but also voicing their anger over the handling of the investigation. (SOUNDBITE) (Mandarin) FAMILY COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVE, STEVE WANG, SAYING: "They just say: 'Sorry, this is under investigation or I don't know about it and I was not responsible for this.' When it came to key questions, they just explained some basic things about the airplane that I can find out on the Internet...It's totally useless." A total of 20 aircraft and ships have been scouring the remote seas off Australia's southwest coast for the missing Boeing 777. Their greatest problem: the sheer size of the search area. It's roughly the size of Poland. The families pray, but time is running out. The battery of the plane's flight recorder ping could die in about a week.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Search for missing plane continues as vigils go on

Monday, March 31, 2014 - 01:43

Most Popular »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)