Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Companies punt on CEO perks

Friday, April 04, 2014 - 01:41

Apr 04 - Companies are reining in flashy perks like paying for CEO's mansions and club memberships, replacing them with boring extras like better insurance and financial planning. Bobbi Rebell reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The perks of the corporate boardroom are getting a little less perky. Forget bloated expense accounts and country club memberships- perks for today's top execs are getting heavy on the boring- think financial planning assistance and life insurance. Reuters' Ross Kerber: SOUNDBITE: ROSS KERBER, REUTERS CORRESPONDENT (ENGLISH) SAYING: "We looked through some filings and what we find is that in a lot of cases the big luxury perks are going away and what you are seeing is more spending and more let's call them more mundane areas like life insurance, security, financial planning assistance things like that; a lot of less use of the corporate jet." Casino mogul Steve Wynn is a prime example: SOUNDBITE: ROSS KERBER, REUTERS CORRESPONDENT (ENGLISH) SAYING: "Steve Wynn has recently started paying for a company owned villa that the company was taking care of previously." Taking care of, to the tune of $450-thousand a year. Instead the company nearly doubled Mr. Wynn's health insurance benefits. Total cost: $33,000 bucks last year. AT&T CEO Randall Stephenson saw his "other compensation" slashed by 35 percent- down to a mere half a million bucks. He now pays the company back for personal use of the company jet. AT&T has also stopped paying for fees for executives' country club memberships. In its place- perks like financial planning. The median value of financial and tax planning help for CEO's is on the rise. And getting to use the company's products- For example: Advanced Micro Devices execs get reimbursed for products that use their chips- including Sony PlayStation and Microsoft Xbox.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Companies punt on CEO perks

Friday, April 04, 2014 - 01:41

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)