Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Politics Videos

Kerry on defense over Ukraine policy

Tuesday, Apr 08, 2014 - 01:37

April 8 - U.S. Secretary of State comes under heavy scrutiny by lawmakers over the Ukraine crisis and U.S. foreign policy with Russia. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The heat is on Secretary of State John Kerry as he faces senators like James Risch sharply, critical of how the Administration is handling the situation in Ukraine. (SOUNDBITE) (English) REPUBLICAN SENATOR JAMES E. RISCH OF IDAHO SAYING: "You know, this administration said they were going to hit the reset button, and I can't help think that somebody hit the wrong button, because things have not gone well during this administration." Senator John McCain also sounded off. (SOUNDBITE) (English) REPUBLICAN SENATOR JOHN MCCAIN OF ARIZONA SAYING: "On the issue of Ukraine. My hero, Teddy Roosevelt used to say talk softly, but carry a big stick. What you're doing, is talking strongly, and carrying a very small stick. In fact, a twig." But Kerry is defending the choice to use diplomacy first. (SOUNDBITE) (English) U.S. SECRETARY OF JOHN KERRY SAYING: "But your friend Teddy Roosevelt also said that the credit belongs to the people who are in the arena who are trying to get things done, and we're trying to get things done. That's a Teddy Roosevelt maxim, and I abide by it. I think it's important to do this. Sure, we may fail. You want to dump it on me. I may fail. I don't care. It's worth doing. It's worth the effort. And the United States has a responsibility to lead. Not always to find the pessimism and negativity that is so easily prevalent in the world today." Concern is growing that Moscow could be preparing for further military action in Ukraine. Earlier, Kerry accused Russian agents and special forces of stirring separatist unrest in eastern Ukraine.

Kerry on defense over Ukraine policy

Tuesday, Apr 08, 2014 - 01:37

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)