Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Technology

Satellite collars to keep track of Siberian reindeer

Monday, Apr 28, 2014 - 01:43

Apr. 28 - Scientists in Siberia have launched a monitoring programme aimed at preserving the world's largest population of reindeer. For communities across the region, the herds are an important source of food and transportation, so technology is being deployed to ensure their future health. Jim Drury has more.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

It's estimated that Siberia is home to more than a million reindeer...but in recent decades, keeping track of the herds has been an impossible task. Regular aerial monitoring of reindeer numbers is simply too expensive but, now scientists are trying an alternative method. Siberian Federal University Professor Alexander Savchenko heads a new program to fit the animals with satellite transmission collars. He says tracking them via satellite will provide information on migration routes, habitat, and wintering sites. SOUNDBITE (Russian) PROFESSOR ALEXANDER SAVCHENKO, SIBERIAN FEDERAL UNIVERSITY, SAYING: "We put on a relatively small number of collars on the reindeer and the signal is transmitted via the satellite to the recipient station. From the station the signal is sent to the monitor of a researcher who can track the reindeer movements from the comfort of the office." For indigenous communities who depend on the reindeer for food, transport, and clothing, a healthy herd is crucial to long term survival. And with illegal hunting on the rise, the collars could help authorities devise strategies for herd preservation. They were manufactured specially by Russian company Es-Pas. Director Alexander Salman says they're lightweight, comfortable for the animal, and last for up to a year. SOUNDBITE (Russian) ALEXANDER SALMAN, DIRECTOR OF 'ES-PAS' COMPANY, HOLDING COLLAR, SAYING: "The device is fixed on an animal and turned on by removing the magnet attached to it. From that moment the device starts to identify its own coordinates with the help of the navigation receiver and transmit the GPS coordinates." Savchenko's team should receive the first results this summer before expanding the project to more herds, helping indigenous communities keep track of their livelihoods.

Satellite collars to keep track of Siberian reindeer

Monday, Apr 28, 2014 - 01:43

Money »

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

Stocks zapped by energy weakness Stocks zapped by energy weakness

Tue, Aug 05, 2014 - (2:46)

Stocks recover with refocus on earnings Stocks recover with refocus on earnings

Mon, Aug 04, 2014 - (2:19)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)