Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Tech Videos

Twitter user growth disappoints

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2014 - 02:20

Apr. 29 - Investors were disheartened by Twitters results- focusing on user growth and engagement, despite better-than-expected earnings and revenues. Bobbi Rebell reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Twitter's second time at bat with earnings after going public- another strike out in a key metric. The stock slammed- even though it did not lose money- as had been expected- and its revenue came in better than forecasts. The problem- its ability to attract new users- and keep them. User growth disappointed Wall Street - growing to just 255 million monthly users globally. And they were also less engaged than forecasts. That's measured by what Twitter calls timeline views- the number of times users refresh their twitter feeds. Wedbush Securities Shyam Patil is keeping a neutral rating on Twitter stock: SOUNDBITE: SHYAM PATIL, ANALYST, WEDBUSH SECURITIES (ENGLISH) SAYING: "I think the stock is probably going to be under pressure in the near term. It seems like the entire focus for investors was around user growth and engagement. Both those metrics came in light. You know they have the lock up expiring I think at the end of last week. Both of these events are going to create some near term pressure on Twitter." Twitter is also making less money in advertising revenue - $1.44 for every 1,000 timeline views, down from $1.49 in the previous quarter. Twitter has been trying to attract new users by experimenting with new features- like importing contacts, so new users can follow people they know. And they have been trying to get advertising dollars from the television industry- saying users who tweet while watching TV are more likely to stay tuned to ads and buy things. But a recent report in the Financial Times quoted an NBC executive casting doubt on the strategy's effectiveness. Patil though- still sees potential there: SOUNDBITE: SHYAM PATIL, ANALYST, WEDBUSH SECURITIES (ENGLISH) SAYING: "I think it's very difficult to measure all of mobile and all of online so it's very likely that NBC didn't properly measure Twitter's impact. You know from our own research, we found that Twitter actually is driving incremental audience and one of the stronger use cases we have heard from agencies and audiences is around live events and the second screen experience. So the feedback we have gotten has actually been positive on that front for Twitter." But until they can convince Wall Street of that- he believes investors will continue to disengage from Twitter stock.

Twitter user growth disappoints

Tuesday, Apr 29, 2014 - 02:20

Top News »

Money »

S&P falls back from record high S&P falls back from record high

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (1:35)

S&P 500 closes at new high S&P 500 closes at new high

Thu, Aug 21, 2014 - (1:24)

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)