Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Moments of Innovation

3D mirror reveals internal organs

Friday, May 02, 2014 - 02:01

May 2 - A three-dimensional digital mirror which reveals the interior of a person's body has been developed by a team of researchers in Paris. Straddling the worlds of art and science, the mirror could one day find a place in hospitals and doctors' offices as an educational tool for patients facing surgery. Jim Drury reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Scientists at the University of Paris-South are inviting the public to look inside themselves. Literally. Medical imaging researcher Xavier Maitre says the team's 3D digital mirror allows an unparalleled view of human insides by creating an individual internal avatar. SOUNDBITE (English) AVATAR OF RESEARCHER BEHIND PROJECT AT UNIVERSITY OF PARIS-SOUTH, XAVIER MAITRE, SAYING: "I'm actually looking at my brain, or looking at the avatar's brain to be more exact, and I can see the different structure of the brain, mostly the grey and white matter." The mirror works through high-resolution images of a person's bones and organs, collated from x-rays, PET and MRI scans. After a three hour processing period, the person can step in front of the mirror and see the results. A Microsoft Kinect motion-capture camera tracks their movements while converting the original images into an avatar on the mirror in real time. Researcher Tom Giraud. SOUNDBITE (English) RESEARCHER BEHIND PROJECT AT UNIVERSITY OF PARIS-SOUTH, TOM GIRAUD, SAYING: "Basically you have the scanner that you have before, then it is modelled in 3D by the graphic teams and then what you do is you put a skeleton in it and with the Kinect you can track people and match the 3D models to the movements, so you have the illusion of a mirror." The team built the device to explore philosophical questions about body image, but Maitre says it could be developed to help doctors - and patients - prepare for operations. SOUNDBITE (English) AVATAR OF RESEARCHER BEHIND PROJECT AT UNIVERSITY OF PARIS-SOUTH, XAVIER MAITRE, SAYING: "If we think of medical imaging, because we're dealing with medical images, then we have to radically change radiologists' habits in terms of how they deal with images....With such a mirror, you would actually have a feeling that you're facing the subject." As a piece of interactive art, the mirror is proving a hit wherever it goes....while for science, the researchers say further refinements should reveal a clearer picture.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

3D mirror reveals internal organs

Friday, May 02, 2014 - 02:01

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)