Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Environment

Reef fish lose brain power as oceans acidify

Tuesday, May 20, 2014 - 02:11

May 20 - Researchers at the Georgia Institute of Technology say reef fish are likely to suffer from cognitive decline as they adapt to higher levels of CO2 in the water over the next century. The scientists say they are already seeing the decline in species inhabiting waters off the New Guinea coast, where a carbon dioxide seep is providing a view of future conditions. Ben Gruber has more.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Off the coast of Papua New Guinea, there's a carbon dioxide seep that's giving marine biologists a view into the future. The water around the seep, while abundant with life, is highly acidic, with CO2 levels much like those predicted for surface ocean water 100 years from now. Georgia Institute of Technology biologist, Danielle Dixson, says the seep is a time machine of sorts, offering a glimpse into how fish will be affected if climate models of the future are correct. She says the evidence so far does not favor the fish. Acidification has impaired their sense of smell and their ability to avoid predators. (SOUNDBITE) (English) DANIELLE DIXSON, ASSISTANT PROFESOR OF BIOLOGY, GEORGIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY, SAYING: "Fish that have been treated to ocean acidification levels that are expected to occur in the next 100 years actually prefer the smell of a predator." In other words, she says, the fish get stupid. In order to adjust to increasing acidification, fish will boost their bicarbonate levels. And while the change allows them to cope with lower PH levels, Dixson says it also leads to cognitive decline, affecting their ability to smell and learn from peers. (SOUNDBITE) (English) DANIELLE DIXSON, ASSISTANT PROFESOR OF BIOLOGY, GEORGIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY, SAYING: "It's funny that their ability to cope with ocean acidification is actually the thing that is causing the problem because it is almost self-afflicted because they are fixing one problem and causing another." And according to Dixson, the rapid rate at which the oceans are acidifying and the vast amount of carbon in the atmosphere that still hasn't been absorbed by ocean waters, means there is very little that can be done to help the fish. (SOUNDBITE) (English) DANIELLE DIXSON, ASSISTANT PROFESOR OF BIOLOGY, GEORGIA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY, SAYING: "All of the different anthropogenic things that we are doing that are putting all of this gas into the atmosphere and it then going into the water from there. We have already acquired so much in the atmosphere that it actually hasn't all equilibrated yet. So even if we stopped driving and flying airplanes and all of that stuff, the oceans will still continue to get acidic because of how much CO2 is in the air now." And based on the evidence around the seep, as CO2 levels rice, predatory fish numbers will decline. And all the while, the reef fish will continue to lose their ability to distinguish between friend and foe.

Reef fish lose brain power as oceans acidify

Tuesday, May 20, 2014 - 02:11

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)