Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Finance Videos

Pakistan factory's World Cup win

Wednesday, May 21, 2014 - 01:25

May 21 - A factory Pakistan is to make the official World Cup soccer balls after a Chinese company let Adidas down. As Hayley Platt reports it has just one month to do what normally takes six.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Landing the contract to make soccer balls for this year's Brazilian World Cup is a great feat for any business. But it was particularly satisfying for the owner of The Forward Sports company in Pakistan. Khawaja Akhtar had been trying to land a contract with Adidas for years. So when the Chinese factory which had been given the original contract couldn't cope, Khawaja jumped in. (SOUNDBITE) (English) OWNER OF FORWARD SPORTS COMPANY, KHAWAJA ASHRAF, SAYING: "This is the dream for anybody who is making balls anywhere in the world. This is the most prestigious ball which is played on many pitches of the world. So everybody loves to be a part of it." It hasn't been without its challenges though. A production line of this magnitude would normally take six months to set up. Akhtar was given just one. (SOUNDBITE) (English) KHAWAJA AKHTAR, OWNER OF FORWARD SPORTS COMPANY, SAYING: "We have to accept the challenge in the best way; we have to produce the best quality in the given time." Asia has long been used by Western firms to produce goods, because labour is cheap. It drives the economy but last April the world saw its dark side. Eleven hundred people were killed when a factory collapsed at Rana Plaza in Bangladash. The industry is notorious for its long working hours and dangerous conditions. Akhtar said conditions in his factory are good. His staff say they're proud to be making this year's world cup soccer balls. And they'll be watching the kick off on June 12 particularly closely.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Pakistan factory's World Cup win

Wednesday, May 21, 2014 - 01:25

Top News »

Most Popular »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)