Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Video

Multinational crew arrives at International Space Station

Thursday, May 29, 2014 - 00:40

May 29 - A multinational crew docks with and boards the International Space Station amidst growing tensions between the U.S. and Russia. Rough Cut (no reporter narration).

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

ROUGH CUT (NO REPORTER NARRATION) Leaving politics behind, a veteran Russian cosmonaut and a pair of rookie astronauts from the United States and Germany blasted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan on Wednesday (May 28) for a six-month mission aboard the International Space Station. The crew's Russian Soyuz rocket lifted off at 3:57 p.m. EDT (1957 GMT) and headed into orbit, a live broadcast on NASA Television showed. Less than six hours after lift off, the crew reached the station, a $100 billion research laboratory as it flew about 418 kilometres (260 miles) above the Pacific Ocean west of Peru. The Soyuz slipped into a berthing port on the station's Rassvet module at 9:44 p.m. EDT/0144 GMT. The station, a project of 15 nations, is overseen by the United States and Russia.

Multinational crew arrives at International Space Station

Thursday, May 29, 2014 - 00:40

Top News »

The Exchange »

Moving Pictures »