Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Playing dead saves California woman from Grizzly attack in Alaska

Friday, May 30, 2014 - 01:07

May 30 - While 'playing dead' isn't the best way to survive a bear attack in California, it may have saved a California woman from a Grizzly attack in Alaska. Gavino Garay reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Various schools of thought surrounding the best way to make it out of a bear attack -- alive. Turns out, it varies from state to state, and depends on the type of bear. For Jessica Gamboa of California, playing dead may have been what saved her life when she was attacked by a grizzly in Alaska. (SOUNDBITE) BEAR ATTACK SURVIVOR JESSICA GAMBOA SAYING: "She picked me up, put me on the other side of the road and basically lashed me, bit me... I thought, 'This is pretty much how I'm going to die...'" Covered in blood, she managed to limp to the road, where a passerby drove her to the hospital. But in her hometown state of California, officials say that while playing dead works in Alaska, that's not the case in California. (SOUNDBITE) PATRICK FOY OF THE CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF FISH & WILDLIFE: "Our recommendation is one were to be attacked by a California bear is to fight back aggressively... Sticks, rocks, anything you can fight the animal off." But some California residents aren't aware that they're supposed to fight back. (SOUNDBITE) UNIDENTIFIED CALIFORNIA RESIDENT SAYING: "If I saw a bear, I'd play dead, that's what scout training has taught us and I'm a scoutmaster... Oops guess I'd better tell the scouts to fight back now!" (SOUNDBITE) UNIDENTIFIED CALIFORNIA RESIDENT SAYING: "I have no idea, I'd probably pass out." While suffering cuts, bruises, and bites to her body, Jessica's expected to make a full recovery. Not always common fate for those mauled by a Grizzly.

Playing dead saves California woman from Grizzly attack in Alaska

Friday, May 30, 2014 - 01:07

Most Popular »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)