Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Personal Finance

Recalls don't dent auto demand

Tuesday, June 03, 2014 - 01:42

June 3-Car sales shot up to their best level in seven years for some automakers, including General Motors, which continues to deal with recalls. Bobbi Rebell reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Automakers are back in the fast lane. May was a great month- sales at the major automakers came in higher than expected - with GM and Chrysler's numbers the best in seven years- because for consumers- getting money to pay for cars has been getting easier. Wells Fargo Advantage Funds Brian Jacobsen: SOUNDBITE: BRIAN JACOBSEN, CHIEF PORTFOLIO STRATEGIST, WELLS FARGO ADVANTAGE FUNDS (ENGLISH) SAYING: "A lot of that is due to low financing costs. If you look at some of the bargains that you get for buying new cars they are really out there, and that's thanks to the Federal Reserve's low interest rate policy." REPORTER ON CAMERA: BOBBI REBELL, REUTERS REPORTER (ENGLISH) SAYING: "That's also allowing dealerships to charge more money for cars- because for most consumers- it's all about the monthly payment." The average transaction price according to Kelley Blue Book is up to $32,307. Senior Director of Insights, Karl Brauer: SOUNDBITE: KARL BRAUER, SENIOR DIRECTOR, INSIGHTS, KELLEY BLUE BOOK (ENGLISH) "You can extend the loan and reduce the monthly payment you can pay a higher price for the vehicle." Brauer says he thinks car sales will continue at this strong pace- with a run rate of around 16 and a half million vehicles for the year. Recalls continue to be a big issue- in May they far outpaced the number of sales. But ironically- the high volume of recalls may actually be driving demand for new cars. Reuters Ben Klayman: SOUNDBITE: BEN KLAYMAN, REUTERS CORRESPONDENT (ENGLISH) SAYING: "Consumers are tuning these things out. Unless there is some drastic reason they have to pay attention. And even in the case of GM they are seeing that as - those are older cars that aren't sold anymore, so I don't have to worry about that for the newer models. And then for recalls that have to do with the newer models they just seem to ignore those. They shake them off." GM however can't quite shake off its big recall- results of its internal investigation into the ignition switch problems will be out later this week.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Recalls don't dent auto demand

Tuesday, June 03, 2014 - 01:42

Top News »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)