Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Personal Finance

Merger Monday drives U.S. stocks

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 - 02:09

June 9 - M&A led the markets higher, with Tyson locking up Hillshire; Merck and Analog Devices announced deals; Apple's stock split drove trading volume; Icahn's Family Dollar play. Lily Jamali reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The major indexes all ended higher Monday.The Dow inching closer to 17,000. The S&P rising slightly by .09%. The Nasdaq up .34% M&A leading the way. Several big deals, starting with Tyson Foods, winning the bidding war for Hillshire Brands. Tyson's $8.5 billion all-cash offer beating out Pilgrim's Pride's bid for the maker of Jimmy Dean sausages and Ball Park hot dogs. Hillshire shares ended higher. Shares of Tyson and Pilgrim's both falling Monday. Pharmaceutical company Merck making news with the announcement that it's buying Hepatitis C drug producer Idenix, for more than three times that company's Friday closing price. Merck plans to join forces with Idenix on a new therapy for Hep C to compete with one offered by Gilead Sciences. Rounding out this Merger Monday: semi-conductor maker Analog Devices ending higher after acquiring chipmaker Hittite Microwave to expand its radio-frequency portfolio. On the day its highly-antipicated 7-to-1 stock split took effect, Apple was the most actively traded stock on the Nasdaq. The stock closed slightly higher. But Keith Bachman at BMO Capital Markets says not to rush into a big position just because it seems cheaper: SOUNDBITE: KEITH BACHMAN, SENIOR RESEARCH ANALYST, BMO CAPITAL MARKETS (ENGLISH) SAYING: "We're not a big believer in sustained value created from a stock split. We think it makes it a little bit easier for retail investors to get in particular to get in because it's a $100 stock price but we don't think on a fundamental basis, anything really changes." Also contributing to the rise: a report from Nikkei news service that Apple's preparing to sell its first wearable device in October. Other market movers include Family Dollar Stores, the biggest gainer on the S&P, jumping by double digits on news from Friday that activist investor Carl Icahn owns a more than 9% stake. Competitor Dollar General also gained on the day as expectations grow that Icahn may push for a merger. European markets ended the day higher.

Merger Monday drives U.S. stocks

Monday, Jun 09, 2014 - 02:09

Top News »

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)