Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Influx of illegal unaccompanied children a "humanitarian" situation: White House

Tuesday, June 10, 2014 - 01:39

June 10 - The White House calls the influx of unaccompanied children crossing the border illegally ''an urgent humanitarian situation.'' Mana Rabiee reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The White House calls it an "an urgent humanitarian situation." Thousands of children crossing illegally from Central America without their parents, without any adults. And this is where nearly a thousand of them have already been bussed to. A border patrol facility in Nogales, Arizona, near the Mexican border. Florida Republican Senator Marc Rubio speaking to CBS on Monday. SOUNDBITE: SEN. MARC RUBIO (R-FL) SAYING: "This is something we should approach first and foremost as a humanitarian issue, not simply an immigration one. Having a large number of children crossing that border by traffickers is just going to be a magnate for all sorts of bad actors." Many of the children are escaping dangerous conditions back home, in countries like El Salvador, Honduras and Guatemala. U.S. immigration officials hope to connect the children with relatives across the country, until ICE can set up a court date for each child. SOUNDBITE: IMMIGRATION ATTORNEY MAURICE GOLDMAN SAYING: "It's an unprecedented situation as far as the numbers go." Arizona immigration attorney says the children face a so-called Credible Fear Interview process to let them stay in the country. SOUNDBITE: IMMIGRATION ATTORNEY MAURICE GOLDMAN SAYING: "With minors, I think you're dealing with a sticky scenario, because many of them may not understand or comprehend why there're here, or how they got to this process, depending on their age, they may not have the mental capacity to do so." Homeland Security says it'll make custody decisions for each child on a case by case basis. Some of the children will join their relatives in the U.S.. But others, some as young as four years old, will face deportation.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Influx of illegal unaccompanied children a "humanitarian" situation: White House

Tuesday, June 10, 2014 - 01:39

Most Popular »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)