Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Entertainment

"Snowpiercer" opens the Los Angeles Film Festival

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2014 - 01:23

June 12 - South Korean director Bong Joon-ho presents ''Snowpiercer'' at Los Angeles Film Festival, Hollywood actors Ed Harris and Tilda Swinton speak about the making of the film. Rollo Ross reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

It's had one of the longest international roll-outs in cinematic history, but 'Snowpiercer', which is about the last survivors on Earth traversing the planet endlessly on a train, is finally about to hit American screens - nearly a year after it was launched in South Korea. But before the film's imminent US release, it had a special screening to open the Los Angeles Film Festival. The film, directed by South Korean director Bong Joon-ho mixes some of the biggest names in South Korean cinema with Hollywood actors. (SOUNDBITE) (Korean) DIRECTOR, BONG JOON-HO, SAYING: "It was an exciting experience to work with Ed Harris and Tilda Swinton who I've been a long fan of even before I became a film director, and what was even amazing was that, on top of the fact that they are great actors/actresses, they are such nice and friendly people, and that impressed me a lot." For Tilda Swinton, who plays the Prime Minister of the train Mason, the experience of working with Bong, who is one of the most celebrated South Korean directors, was an eye-opener. (SOUNDBITE) (English) ACTRESS, TILDA SWINTON, SAYING: "He works in a very particular way, in Korea they work very storyboard but also very closely with a cut, so you work with an editor all the time which was a very, very fascinating thing for those who had not worked in that way, it was super playful and super anarchic and we had a laugh." "Snowpiercer" will finally hit US cinemas on June 27th but be warned - it's only for a limited release.

"Snowpiercer" opens the Los Angeles Film Festival

Wednesday, Jun 11, 2014 - 01:23

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)