Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Technology

Cardiopad brings heart health to remote Cameroon communities

Friday, June 13, 2014 - 01:42

June 13 - A touch screen tablet invented by a 22-year-old Cameroonian engineer is helping doctors perform heart examinations on patients in remote, rural locations beyond the reach of specialists. Jim Drury has more.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Until recently heart patients in rural Cameroon had to travel long distances for routine tests. Now they can visit the smallest of local hospitals, thanks to the Cardiopad - a medical touchscreen tablet created by local entrepreneur, 22 year old Arthur Zang. SOUNDBITE (French) ARTHUR ZANG, CARDDIOPAD INVENTOR SAYING: "We've created a company called Himore Medical that employs several engineers to get this project to work scientifically and on an entrepreneurial level. We want to produce more devices to meet the demand from hundreds of hospitals that really need this technology." Bankomo Hospital doctor Ndjomo Mba carries out tests such as electrocardiograms on the Cardiopad and transmits the results to a specialist located elsewhere. SOUNDBITE (French) DOCTOR NDJOMO MBA, BANKOMO HOSPITAL DIRECTOR SAYING: "Here in Bankomo, we treat patients with heart problems without them having to go away for treatment. This device allows us to examine them here and perform the electrocardiogram, then send it to a specialist who sends back the final results." It's a service that could revolutionise health care in underserved comunities. Cameroon employs fewer than two doctors for every 10,000 people. Bankomo Hospital is the sole health facility for its 25,000 people, such as Laurent Essomba who has a long-standing heart complaint. UPSOT: LAURENT ESSOMBA SPEAKING Essomba says he couldn't afford to travel to the nearest urban hospital for tests, but that regular Cardiopad monitoring enables him to live and work as normal. Arthur Zang's company hopes to equip 100 rural hospitals throughout Cameroon. The next challenge is to build a solar-powered version to cope with the lack of electricity prevalent in many areas across the continent

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Cardiopad brings heart health to remote Cameroon communities

Friday, June 13, 2014 - 01:42

Top News »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)