Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Technology

Amazon tries to blaze different smartphone path

Wednesday, June 18, 2014 - 02:09

June 18 - Amazon is jumping into the crowded smartphone market with a 3D model it hopes will easily connect customers to its online marketplace, in another attempt to use devices to drive sales in its key e-commerce business. Conway G. Gittens reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Fire is spreading. Amazon's line of devices is expanding into phones with the long anticipated launch of the Fire smartphone. The communication and media device adds to the Kindle Fire HD tablet and the Fire TV set-top box recently announced. Amazon is building up a war chest to compete with other tech giants, says Citizen.VC's Max Wolff. SOUNDBITE: MAX WOLFF, CHIEF ECONOMIST/STRATEGIST, CITIZEN.VC (ENGLISH) SAYING: "It's not about making a big splash for profit, not even making a big revenue splash in the next quarter or two - even in the best case scenario. It's about Apple encircling and building out their ecosystem. It's about Google encircling and building out an ecosystem. It's about Microsoft, and about Amazon saying: we are one of the big players in tech. We also have a totally encircled ecosystem where you can order online from us, you can use our apps on other devices, you can use our TV at home, you can use our tablet and you can use your Amazon phone." There are a few surprises. The Fire comes with unlimited cloud storage. But Amazon is not joining the trend of larger screens started by the Samsung Galaxy and expected to be soon followed by Apple's iPhone 6. There's a one-handed gesture feature, which presumably makes it easier for customers to access Amazon's vast e-commerce marketplace and growing media offerings. And Firefly - software that recognizes an object and then takes you right to the Amazon store where you can buy it. SOUNDBITE: MAX WOLFF, CHIEF ECONOMIST/STRATEGIST, CITIZEN.VC (ENGLISH) SAYING: "Let's remember, if the mobile phone is the basic future of e-commerce, which we all think it is, then Amazon - the dominant player in e-commerce now facing Alibaba, now facing JD, now facing growing app native competitors - needs to be there. They need to control that situation too. And being one of a whole bunch of apps, with no particular advantage and some disadvantage, in this world is probably a bad idea. And let's not forget running in the background - Google is moving into shopping." To make the phone even more attractive - buyers will get a free 12-month membership to Amazon Prime, which includes free two-day shipping. The phone which is only available on AT&T comes with a hefty $750 unsubsidized price tag, $199 with a two-year contract.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Amazon tries to blaze different smartphone path

Wednesday, June 18, 2014 - 02:09

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)