Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Fish farmer brings science of aquaculture to urban poor

Friday, Jun 20, 2014 - 02:01

June 20 - An innovative fish farm project in South Africa is helping poor communities find new ways to make a living by growing fish for sale in shipping containers. The project is designed not only to provide jobs, but to assist families add high-value protein to their diet. Rob Muir reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Renowned for its warm summers and scenic beauty, Cape Town is also home to Khayelitsha, a deprived and cramped city of more than 700,000 people. Crime and unemployment rates are high and life is often difficult. The mobile fish-farm, housed in a shipping container, is one man's answer to Khayelitsha's many probems. Enrterpreneur Allan Fleming says it's a simple technology that can help local residents earn money while producing high quality food, through aquaculture. He says its ideally suited to communities like Khayelitsha. (SOUNDBITE) (English) ALLAN FLEMING, FOUNDER FISH FARM PROJECT, SAYING: "Firstly, you can lock up your business at night and you can go home if it's close to your home, even better. It also preserves the heat inside the container if you are growing a warm water fish which we are, it's transportable, it's profitable and you can take it anywhere, so a lot of advantages to packing a container with a bunch of tanks, water and all the bits and pieces you need for a fish farm and getting it profitable." The fish farm utilises a circulating water filtration system. It can produce four tonnes of talapia annualy, yielding a profit of about 370 dollars a month. Fleming says his dream was to get small scale agriculture into the heart of cities where the majority of people live, and with the fish-farm he;'s achieving the goal. (SOUNDBITE) (English) ALLAN FLEMING, FOUNDER FISH FARM PROJECT, SAYING: "With the knowledge that everyday five million people in South Africa get up in the morning with nothing to do, nowhere to go and no hope, so for me it was a time bomb waiting to explode and my effort towards solving that problem is to get people into the aquaculture business, they offered a small business opportunity not to develop a huge agriculture fish farm." Fleming's prototype was funded by donors, but he says he hopes to start producing moble fish farms on a commercial basis for other communities, not just in South Africa, but wherever jobs and quality food are needed.

Fish farmer brings science of aquaculture to urban poor

Friday, Jun 20, 2014 - 02:01

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)