Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Gasoline-diesel hybrid could be key to cleaner driving

Monday, Jun 23, 2014 - 02:09

Scientists in Sweden have modified a diesel engine to work with gasoline, an adjustment they say could significantly reduce emissions and fuel consumption for vehicles on the road. The researchers at Lund University have taken a common refuelling mistake and turned it into an asset that might ultimately help truck companies meet stringent emissions reduction targets. Jim Drury saw it in action.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

UPSOT: ENGINE Professor Bengt Johansson says his modified diesel engine could help truck drivers vastly improve their fuel efficiency and curb their emissions. UPSOT: ENGINE While it may seem counter-intuitive, Johansson has adapted the engine to run on gasoline. SOUNDBITE (English) BENGT JOHANNSON, PROFESSOR OF COMBUSTION ENGINES AT LUND UNIVERSITY, SAYING: "It is pretty much the same engine, same fuel tank. You need to fill up with a different fuel but that's it. And it's kind of done already by mistake by hundreds of thousands of people every year filling up their diesel cars with petrol, so it's not very good to do it if you don't know how to do it.....but if you know how to do it you get significant benefits, lower fuel consumption, and also lower emissions." Key to the work by Johansson, and Lund University colleague Professor Per Tunestal, is an ignition delay of nanoseconds. SOUNDBITE (English) PER TUNESTAL, PROFESSOR OF COMBUSTION ENGINES AT LUND UNIVERSITY, SAYING: "The ignition delay allows the fuel and air to mix well enough before the combustion starts and by doing so you can avoid very high temperatures where you get nitric oxide formation and you can also avoid very fuel rich zones where you get a lot of production of soot." They call it their partially premixed combustion process - PPC for short. And in laboratory tests this delay between fuel injection and combustion has produced dramatic results. SOUNDBITE (English) PER TUNESTAL, PROFESSOR OF COMBUSTION ENGINES AT LUND UNIVERSITY, SAYING: "Compared to a normal diesel process we're talking about orders of magnitude, so a reduction by somewhere around 95 to almost 100 percent of both the nitric oxide emissions and also of the soot emissions." Tunestal says their methods could revolutionise the trucking industry, by keeping engines so clean they won't need catalytic converters and improving fuel efficiency by almost fifty percent. PPC could even be adapted to future car diesel engines, although the Lund team says it could take another decade before the technology hits the road.

Gasoline-diesel hybrid could be key to cleaner driving

Monday, Jun 23, 2014 - 02:09

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)