Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Russia's Ukraine diplomacy gets double edge

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2014 - 02:16

President Putin asks parliament to revoke his right to send troops into Ukraine. At the same time, Russia concludes the South Stream pipeline deal with Austria - a move seen by some as an attempt to 'divide and rule' EU member states. David Pollard reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Russian diplomacy at work - as Vladimir Putin lands in Vienna. The Russian president was on a one-day visit - only his second to an EU country since his country annexed Crimea. It's a critical one - Austria is now giving its final approval to a controversial Russian gas pipeline through its territory. The $40 billion South Stream project will carry gas to the centre of Europe - crucially, it'll bypass Ukraine as a transit point. And that's aroused opposition from within the EU. Austria's OMV energy company says no matter - Europe still needs Russian gas. While Russia's Gazprom says it's in constant touch with the EU. Chief exec, Alexei Miller. SOUNDBITE (Russian) GAZPROM CHIEF EXECUTIVE, ALEXEI MILLER, SAYING: "As far as the European Commission is concerned and personally Energy Commissioner Mr. Oettinger, I'm in touch with him all the time, if not daily, at least weekly. That's what our dialogue with the European Commission looks like. We communicate both personally and by telephone." And the diplomacy took on a double edge with an announcement from the Kremlin. Putin has asked parliament to revoke a right to military intervention in the Ukraine. The move is certain to be welcomed by the West as a sign of Russian good faith. Andrei Klimov is a Russian senator. SOUNDBITE: RUSSIAN SENATOR, ANDREI KLIMOV, MEMBER OF THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION COUNCIL, SAYING: "I believe that this signal has to be heard both in Ukrainian society and by our partners in Washington - mainly in Washington, in London in Brussels and so on." That signal might be: no more EU sanctions please - as EU leaders prepare for this week's summit in Brussels. Even so, Russia has not lost sight of its ambitions, according to Maria Lipman of the Carnegie Foundation in Moscow. SOUNDBITE (English) MARIA LIPMAN, ANALYST, CARNEGIE FOUNDATION, SAYING: "I do not think that Russian priorities have changed - the priorities being that Ukraine should not come under the Western orbit and that Russia should have leverage in Ukraine and have a way to influence the developments inside Ukraine." Outline peace talks on the crisis began on Monday. Some though, wonder at the timing of the two events. Asking whether Russia is trying to exploit differences between EU states like traditionally neutral Austria - and those like Britain that take a harder line.

Russia's Ukraine diplomacy gets double edge

Tuesday, Jun 24, 2014 - 02:16

Top News »

Money »

S&P falls back from record high S&P falls back from record high

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (1:35)

S&P 500 closes at new high S&P 500 closes at new high

Thu, Aug 21, 2014 - (1:24)

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)