Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Iraqi parliament in limbo as ISIL declares Islamic caliphate

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2014 - 01:53

Iraq's parliament is paralyzed in political limbo as ISIL fighters celebrate their declaration of an Islamic caliphate. Mana Rabiee reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

A convoy of ISIL fighters in eastern Syria, Monday. The black flag of their rebel movement waving over their heads. Sunni fighters from the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant parade through the town of Raqqa. Their group wants to set up an Islamic caliphate in the region and its fighters now fully control these city streets. In the Iraqi capital, Baghdad, parliament tries to cope. The Sunni insurgency threatens to cut Iraq apart along its three main sectarian lines - Shi'ite, Sunni and Kurd. On Tuesday, Parliament convened for the first time since April elections. It's under pressure to form an inclusive unity government. But it failed to name a replacement for embattled Shi'ite Prime Minister Nouri-al-Maliki. And that prompted Sunnis and Kurds to simply walk out, leaving less than a third of lawmakers in the room. Sunni former speaker of the house Osama al-Nujaifi: (SOUNDBITE) (Arabic) MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT AND THE SUNNI FORMER SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE, OSAMA AL-NUJAIFI, SAYING: "We are not interested in any participation in the new government until a new status is introduced in Iraq. If there is a new policy with a new prime minister, we will deal with them positively. Otherwise the country will go from bad to worse." Parliament is unlikely to meet again for at least a week. Leaving Iraq in political limbo. But Baghdad can't afford any more delays. This week, ISIL renamed itself the "Islamic State". In more amateur video, this one Reuters can't verify, its fighters parade their weapons in Raqqa. They're celebrating their declaration of an Islamic caliphate in the region. They're claiming universal authority over territory they now control along both sides of this embattled border.

Iraqi parliament in limbo as ISIL declares Islamic caliphate

Tuesday, Jul 01, 2014 - 01:53

Most Popular »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)