Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Barack Obama

Ukraine peace hopes dashed as truce ends

Tuesday, July 01, 2014 - 02:13

Hopes for a settlement to the Ukraine crisis suffer another setback as a ceasefire ends - while a new round of hostile rhetoric begins. David Pollard reports

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

A truce ends - within hours, military action resumes. As does the heated rhetoric. In his latest comments, the Russian president said Ukraine had shunned the road to peace. SOUNDBITE (Russian) RUSSIAN PRESIDENT, VLADIMIR PUTIN, SAYING: "I want everybody to understand that our country will continue to energetically protect the rights of ethnic Russians, our compatriots abroad using all means at our disposal - from political and economic to the right of self-defence." Earlier, there was confirmation that Ukraine's military was moving again against separatists in the east, from Ukraine's parliamentary speaker. SOUNDBITE (Ukrainian) UKRAINIAN PARLIAMENT SPEAKER OLEXANDER TURCHINOV, SAYING: "This morning an active phase of the anti-terrorist operation has been renewed. (APPLAUSE) Our armed forces are launching strikes against the terrorists' bases." President Poroshenko told Ukraine he had dropped the ceasefire to free it from ''terrorists and marauders''. A four-way phone call with Vladimir Putin, French and German leaders failed to persuade him to extend the truce. Ukraine says 27 of its servicemen have been killed since the ceasefire began on June 20. And Poroshenko's facing growing pressure at home for more action. In the event, it came as little suprise, according to Michael Hewson of CMC Markets. SOUNDBITE (English) Michael Hewson, Chief Market Analyst, CMC Markets, saying: ''Was the ceasefire ever on? You know, I mean, that's the biggest question - there've been so many breaches over the past few weeks I think the fact that Mr Poroshenko has called off the ceasefire doesn't change an awful lot.'' It may, though, increase the threat of sanctions against Russia. EU leaders said on Friday they were ready to adopt more punitive measures, possibly targeting new people and companies with asset freezes as early as next week. SOUNDBITE (English) Michael Hewson, Chief Market Analyst, CMC Markets, saying: ''I think, going forward, I think sanctions are very very likely simply because I think there's a perception on the behalf of EU and US leaders that Russia isn't doing enough to rein in the separatists, and I think unless that dynamic changes this crisis is going to continue to rumble on the in the background for quite some time to come.'' Slaviansk is one town where sporadic fighting continued during the truce. Further north, in Kharkiv, Ukrainian forces say they foiled a separatist plot to blow up the local railway. Confirmation, if needed, that Ukraine's truce - and hopes for peace - were shaky at best.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Ukraine peace hopes dashed as truce ends

Tuesday, July 01, 2014 - 02:13

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)