Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Most Popular

Picking up the pieces in eastern Ukraine

Friday, July 04, 2014 - 01:52

Residents in eastern Ukraine pick up the pieces in damaged towns as Ukraine's government awaits an answer for peace talks on Saturday. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Damage control in eastern Ukraine. Residents pick up the pieces after accusing the military of shelling. In some of the worst violence since the end of the ceasefire June 30, Ukraine's "anti-terrorist operation" says at least 13 Ukrainian military personnel were killed Friday. The scars of war can be seen in the east. This man shows his damaged home He is fed up with the fighting and the government. (SOUNDBITE) (Russian) LUHANSK RESIDENT, ALEKSANDER, SAYING: "What are we hoping for? That the Ukrainian authorities will have enough wits to stop this and go away from here. What can there be between us now? How can we trust them? How can we trust the president when he is bombing us, pensioners?" Similar scenes in Odessa after an explosion in a military conscription center in Odessa injures one person and seriously damages the building. A team of investigators said that the explosive has been planted in the drain pipe at the base of a three-story building. (SOUNDBITE) (Russian) LOCAL RESIDENT LYUBOV KHOLOD, SAYING: "It happened about 3.08 am. First, there was a bang, then there was a loud buzz, and dust, heavy dust. But I had a feeling that was a blast, a blast for sure. Nothing else, but the blast." Blood has spilled across Russian-speaking eastern regions that want to quit Ukraine and join Russia. In two months more than 200 have been killed on the government side, as well as hundreds of civilians and rebels. The president's website says Ukraine proposed a time and place for talks with pro-Russian separatist rebels Saturday, intended to produce conditions for a durable ceasefire. The government is waiting for a response.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Picking up the pieces in eastern Ukraine

Friday, July 04, 2014 - 01:52

Top News »

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Moving Pictures »

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)