Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Politics

"This isn't theater. This is a problem": Obama on migrants

Wednesday, July 09, 2014 - 02:05

U.S. President Obama urged Congress to pass his request for $3.7 billion in funds to address influx of migrant children from Central America crossing the U.S. border. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

More than 52,000 unaccompanied minors from Honduras, El Salvador and Guatemala have been caught trying to sneak over the U.S. border since October -- that's double the number from the same period the year before. U.S. President Barack Obama is now calling on Central American parents not to send children on a journey with no likely happy ending. (SOUNDBITE) (English) U.S. PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA, SAYING: "While we intend to do the right thing by these children, Their parents need to know that this is an incredibly dangerous situation and it is unlikely that their children will be able to stay. " Obama is calling on Congress to sign on to a 3.7 billion dollar request to combat the problem. (SOUNDBITE) (English) U.S. PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA, SAYING: "The challenge is Congress prepared to act to put the resources in place to get this done. Another way of putting this, and I said this directly to the governor, are folks more interested in politics or are they more interested in solving the problem." Obama, who met with former rival the Republican governor of Texas Rick Perry was asked why he himself has not gone to the border. (SOUNDBITE) (English) U.S. PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA, SAYING: "This isn't theater. This is a problem. I am not interested in photo ops, I am interested in solving a problem. And, those who say I should visit the border, when you ask them what we should be doing, they are giving us suggestions that are embodied in legislation I have already sent to Congress." The crisis is putting strains on the U.S. budget because of the cost of providing shelter and food for many children now held in detention centers, while authorities evaluate whether and how to deport them.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

"This isn't theater. This is a problem": Obama on migrants

Wednesday, July 09, 2014 - 02:05

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)