Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Slovenia victor tests investor nerves

Monday, July 14, 2014 - 01:56

A centre-left political novice leads his party to victory in Sunday's election - a result that could test investor nerves in view of his hostility to privatisation seen as key to Slovenia's economic reform. David Pollard reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

His party was formed barely six weeks ago. Now it's on course to be the biggest in parliament. Miro Cerar is a fifty-year-old law professor and a virtual newcomer to politics. His SMC party won just shy of 35 per cent of the vote - that translates to over a third of seats - banking on its appeal to voters fed up with the scandals that have tarnished the traditional parties. A stong mandate - though he's likely to still need a coalition agreement with other parties. And a hint that Slovenia will revisit reform. (SOUNDBITE) (Slovenian) LEADER OF MIRO CERAR MARTY (SMC) AND ELECTION WINNER, MIRO CERAR, SAYING: "Slovenia ... acknowledges the EU's recommendations in accepting all further measures and reforms for ending the financial, economic, and social crisis. However, within those recommendations, Slovenia as a country will seek its own ways to achieve those fundamental goals in the best way." The financial crisis left Slovenia's reputation as an trailblazer in ex-Communist eastern Europe in shreds. Critics say state meddling after the global downturn made things worse. Bad loans exposing years of reckless lending - Slovenia narrowly avoiding an international bailout last year. Cerar has, though, opposed the sale of some state assets - like Telekom Slovenia and the international airport, Aerodrom Llubljana. That could make investors nervous. And many voters say they have yet to be won over by what'll be the fourth government since the crisis. (SOUNDBITE) (Slovenian) ENGINEER FROM LJUBLJANA, UROS PIRNAT, SAYING: "It seems like a small step forward, but otherwise I don't expect any changes in the current policies. I think that in all areas the policies will continue as they were until now." The outgoing administration suspended the privatisation programme pending a new government. Without the state sell-offs, Cerar will have to find other ways to raise cash if he's to meet deficit targets agreed with the EU. Even with them, it could still take a while - no new government expected to be formed before mid-September.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Slovenia victor tests investor nerves

Monday, July 14, 2014 - 01:56

Top News »

Most Popular »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)