Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

World News

UK's Cameron announces 1.1 billion pound defense investment

Monday, Jul 14, 2014 - 01:05

British Prime Minister David Cameron announces 1.1 billion pounds in military spending focused on Britain's ability to respond to threats such as global terrorism. Rough Cut (no reporter narration).

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

ROUGH CUT (NO REPORTER NARRATION) STORY: British Prime Minister David Cameron announced 1.1 billion pounds ($1.87 billion) in military spending on Monday (July 14) aimed at bolstering the country's Special Forces and improving the radar on its Typhoon fighter jets. The spending will include 800 million pounds in investment in "Intelligence, Surveillance, Target Acquisition and Reconnaissance", the prime minister's office said in a statement. A further 300 million pounds will be spent on new E-Scan radar for the Typhoon fighter jet and the purchase of Ice Patrol Ship HMS Protector. Speaking at the Farnborough International Airshow, Cameron said the spending would target threats such as global terrorism. "We're able to announce today an extra billion pounds of spending to help keep our country safe. Things like surveillance aircraft, special forces things that can help stop terrorism at source before it reaches our country." Cameron also set out plans to boost Britain's defense industry, which employs more than 160,000 people and generated 9.8 billion pounds in exports in 2013. This included 4 million pounds for a maritime intelligence-focused center in Portsmouth where scientists, engineers and naval specialists will work together to develop technology for use in autonomous unmanned boats and submarines.

UK's Cameron announces 1.1 billion pound defense investment

Monday, Jul 14, 2014 - 01:05

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Dateline Asia »

Sterling jumps, on Scottish vote Sterling jumps, on Scottish vote

Thu, Sep 18, 2014 - (2:56)

Rare rock on the block in Hong Kong Rare rock on the block in Hong Kong

Thu, Sep 18, 2014 - (1:43)

Alibaba IPO is 'overhyped': Mark Mobius Alibaba IPO is 'overhyped': Mark Mobius

Thu, Sep 18, 2014 - (4:13)

China tech players chip away at Alibaba China tech players chip away at Alibaba

Wed, Sep 17, 2014 - (4:02)

Breakingviews: India hits Japan/China radar Breakingviews: India hits Japan/China radar

Tue, Sep 16, 2014 - (2:20)

Asia corporate sentiment is slipping Asia corporate sentiment is slipping

Tue, Sep 16, 2014 - (1:36)

Alibaba's China roadshow Alibaba's China roadshow

Mon, Sep 15, 2014 - (2:16)