Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Finance Videos

Breakingviews: Outfoxing Rupert Murdoch

Wednesday, July 16, 2014 - 03:19

Antony Currie and Robert Cyran explain that Murdoch may have to surrender one of his cherished possessions if he wants to buy Time Warner: his super-voting stock in Twenty-First Century Fox.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Rupert Murdoch is going back only acquisition trail at least he's trying to. It's some folks is just offered 89 billion full Time Warner bought the deal's been rejected -- certain. You'll look you know as -- with very general Cox and it's not just the price -- serious problem and it's it's what he's -- thing with the other -- problem is that he's offering stock in the stock is offering is nonvoting shares. And you have to be a little bit has to be -- take that because. Shareholders are a bit unhappy with -- camera over the years if you Michelle was -- -- yes -- dollars and fox wanted to actually get a vote because Vietnam brings brings us. The ones who actually had to get the -- have voted in payroll these sorts of things Ian. Vertical with 39% of the vote which is way more than you can ask of you see this very anxious he's a statement sent it's a good years then -- -- -- their protest that's been in and the people who. Don't besides where are they put before independent directors they've voted against Murdoch's songs on the board they voted against compensation and in none of this really matters. And that the promise that unity you're you're. If you are Time Warner you're you're saddling your shareholders witness paper which it's just -- said its its greatest the a company science thing you know I shambles matter anything -- biased and you gonna be patient and by you know giving him enough -- so what does that guided we've got here is that that mount options. Be willing. To get rid of this agreement instruction yet that the problem is of course that one of the reasons he's able to do this deal is that he has the -- structure. Because. You know to do big deal like this obviously there's there's a lot of risk involved and -- shareholders may not be so. Enthusiastic about the deal I think Fox's story out this and if we wouldn't do this week settle CNN so that's a building night and it's an issue yet and and there -- other things you know like for instance on the other potential buyers that are also engaged in transactions regulators are looking at this. Yeah other deals so maybe there'd be demand extra pound of flesh. So you know time -- what Time Warner is doing is they're trying to basically -- the water perhaps could hire hired him present at a zoning is an age if you Time Warner unit is she thinking boat unit. -- -- -- -- To some extent if -- company over the final estimates it which he's done but what happens when this this this and he gets to get into what happened. He's -- down button I want isn't a need for the AC but it -- anywhere from minutes ago. Well it means one reason -- courses to -- -- -- council audits of the good -- them that's potentially another it's because well because you know -- over from where Iraqis -- you know. You may be unhappy these created a lot of value of the years. You know what his -- to this thing that's much Saturday ABC. Potential one night coming in I think it union. You company's new media would have -- -- pupils of being an -- Spiegel has its own yet Angel -- Amazon perhaps they're starting -- -- on the edges you know we'll see I think it's a bit early for them you know in May be in a couple years -- -- more developed an -- marched -- a giant acquisitions like this. Right now it -- run the risk of look like AOL Time Warner in Iraq and homeless and -- well. A hot story. And -- still can't happen without. All right. -- and thanks very much and will be back with more pregnancies.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Breakingviews: Outfoxing Rupert Murdoch

Wednesday, July 16, 2014 - 03:19

Top News »

Most Popular »

Retirement »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Why bruised Brazil is a buy Why bruised Brazil is a buy

Fri, Jul 19, 2013 - (2:48)

3 ways to fix your bond portfolio 3 ways to fix your bond portfolio

Thu, Jul 11, 2013 - (3:10)

The next gold? Diamonds lure investors The next gold? Diamonds lure investors

Wed, Jul 03, 2013 - (2:38)

How to play the Fed’s tapering timeline How to play the Fed’s tapering timeline

Thu, Jun 20, 2013 - (2:34)

How to play banker on the web How to play banker on the web

Tue, Jun 11, 2013 - (2:57)

3 surprises about the 2013 stock rally 3 surprises about the 2013 stock rally

Fri, May 24, 2013 - (2:11)

How to cash in on lawsuits - Investing 201 How to cash in on lawsuits - Investing 201

Tue, Apr 30, 2013 - (2:30)

Rising dollar will drive stocks higher Rising dollar will drive stocks higher

Wed, Apr 10, 2013 - (2:32)

A little-known path to big dividends - Investing 201 A little-known path to big dividends -...

Thu, Apr 04, 2013 - (3:16)

What exactly does Warren Buffett own? - Investing 201 What exactly does Warren Buffett own? -...

Thu, Feb 14, 2013 - (0:51)

Big short bets: Where are they now? - Investing 201 Big short bets: Where are they now? -...

Fri, Dec 21, 2012 - (2:33)

Money Clip »

How to get out of debt How to get out of debt

Thu, Oct 30, 2014 - (3:37)

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

How to break your prenup - Money Clip How to break your prenup - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 07, 2013 - (1:18)

Watch your wallet on Pinterest - Money Clip Watch your wallet on Pinterest - Money Clip

Thu, Feb 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Get set for the big bull run - Money Clip Get set for the big bull run - Money Clip

Thu, Jan 24, 2013 - (3:41)

Moving Pictures »

Images of November Images of November

Tue, Dec 02, 2014 - (0:30)

Images of October Images of October

Mon, Nov 03, 2014 - (0:57)

The world in a city The world in a city

Fri, Oct 31, 2014 - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, Oct 28, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)

360° snapshot of life in Kabul 360° snapshot of life in Kabul

Fri, Apr 04, 2014 - (1:26)

A blind teenager, living with vision A blind teenager, living with vision

Thu, Mar 27, 2014 - (3:51)

TIMELAPSE: Backstage at the Oscars TIMELAPSE: Backstage at the Oscars

Wed, Mar 05, 2014 - (2:49)

TIMELAPSE: Lunch with Oscar nominees TIMELAPSE: Lunch with Oscar nominees

Wed, Feb 12, 2014 - (2:55)

Sochi Highlights: Let the games begin Sochi Highlights: Let the games begin

Fri, Feb 07, 2014 - (0:40)

TIMELAPSE: On the Golden Globes red carpet TIMELAPSE: On the Golden Globes red carpet

Tue, Jan 14, 2014 - (3:28)

Pictures of the Year 2013 Pictures of the Year 2013

Fri, Dec 20, 2013 - (3:03)

Marching to the beat of Sousa's drum Marching to the beat of Sousa's drum

Thu, Dec 05, 2013 - (6:11)

The Gettysburg Address The Gettysburg Address

Thu, Nov 28, 2013 - (2:31)

Reuters Investigates »

Where the sea is closing in Where the sea is closing in

Thu, Nov 20, 2014 - (3:41)

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:22)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:02)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:40)

Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters Investigates Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (3:43)

Exclusive: Jihad Jane in her own words Exclusive: Jihad Jane in her own words

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (4:11)

Attorney: How a Maryland teenager became radicalized - Reuters Investigates Attorney: How a Maryland teenager became...

Fri, Dec 07, 2012 - (4:21)

Dateline Asia »

Sinking Jakarta embarks on seawall project Sinking Jakarta embarks on seawall project

Thu, Dec 18, 2014 - (2:22)

No Christmas easing from the Bank of Japan No Christmas easing from the Bank of Japan

Fri, Dec 19, 2014 - (1:59)

North Korea to blame for Sony hack: source North Korea to blame for Sony hack: source

Thu, Dec 18, 2014 - (1:10)

China's house prices fall again China's house prices fall again

Thu, Dec 18, 2014 - (1:10)

China's child labor problem China's child labor problem

Thu, Dec 18, 2014 - (2:19)

Measuring up North Korea's heir Measuring up North Korea's heir

Wed, Dec 17, 2014 - (1:03)

Russia worries rock emerging markets Russia worries rock emerging markets

Wed, Dec 17, 2014 - (1:14)

Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes Seoul raises the "nut rage" stakes

Tue, Dec 16, 2014 - (1:03)

Sydney in shock after hostage horror Sydney in shock after hostage horror

Tue, Dec 16, 2014 - (1:07)

Not all merry and bright in China's manufacturing sector Not all merry and bright in China's...

Tue, Dec 16, 2014 - (1:29)

Beneath the surface of Abe's big win Beneath the surface of Abe's big win

Mon, Dec 15, 2014 - (1:15)

Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe Some hostages escape from Sydney cafe

Mon, Dec 15, 2014 - (1:06)

Abe eyes big win in Japan election Abe eyes big win in Japan election

Sun, Dec 14, 2014 - (1:00)

Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame Afghan Bruce Lee sets sights on global fame

Fri, Dec 12, 2014 - (1:40)

Asian markets rattled by oil price drop Asian markets rattled by oil price drop

Thu, Dec 11, 2014 - (1:14)

Final stand for Hong Kong's protesters Final stand for Hong Kong's protesters

Thu, Dec 11, 2014 - (1:21)

Asia markets stumble as oil tumbles Asia markets stumble as oil tumbles

Thu, Dec 11, 2014 - (1:15)

All eyes on upcoming Dalian Wanda IPO All eyes on upcoming Dalian Wanda IPO

Thu, Dec 11, 2014 - (2:52)

Final hours for Hong Kong protesters Final hours for Hong Kong protesters

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (1:57)

Anger at Japan's new state secrets law Anger at Japan's new state secrets law

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (1:33)

Charm offensive for KFC in China Charm offensive for KFC in China

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (2:13)

Pro-ISIS pockets at Kabul University Pro-ISIS pockets at Kabul University

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (1:46)

Volatility the new norm in China Volatility the new norm in China

Wed, Dec 10, 2014 - (1:44)

Investor feedback trimmed Dalian Wanda IPO Investor feedback trimmed Dalian Wanda IPO

Tue, Dec 09, 2014 - (4:26)