Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Barack Obama

Ukraine, Russia blame each other for downed airliner

Friday, July 18, 2014 - 02:02

Muscovites speculate on what downed the Malaysian Airlines plane in eastern Ukraine, killing all 298 people on board, as Ukrainian officials place blame squarely on Russia. Vanessa Johnston reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Ukraine and Russia trade accusations over the Malaysia Airliner that crashed in Ukraine Thursday. Each side is pointing the finger at the other. The plane was shot down in an area held by pro-Russian separatists. All 298 people on board were killed. On Friday, Ukraine's National Security and Defense Council Spokesman denies Ukrainian responsibility. (SOUNDBITE) (Ukrainian) UKRAINIAN NATIONAL SECURITY AND DEFENSE COUNCIL SPOKESMAN, ANDRIY LYSENKO, SAYING: "We underscore that the anti-terrorist operation forces did not perform any activities aiming at targets in the air. An inventory of anti-aircraft missile complexes and anti-aircraft missiles located on Ukrainian territory was fulfilled. All missiles are on hand. Ukrainian aviation did not operate at the site where the airplane crashed. It even does not work at such an altitude." Ukraine says pro-Russian militants -- aided by Russian military intelligence officers -- fired a long range ground-to-air missile. But on the streets of Moscow, many residents have a different view. Anastasia thinks Russia can't be at fault since the crash happened over Ukrainian territory. (SOUNDBITE) (Russian) MOSCOW RESIDENT, ANASTASIA, SAYING: "It clearly didn't fall for no reason. Ukraine made a statement. I think they said pretty recently that all the planes that fly below 7 km would all be hit by shelling. That's it." Alexander agrees. (SOUNDBITE) (Russian) MOSCOW RESIDENT, ALEXANDER, 28, SAYING: "I think these are Ukrainians after all. At least considering the flight's altitude, I doubt that a shoulder-carried missile launcher could reach 10 km. I don't think this was done from Russian territory." Russian President Vladimir Putin blames Ukraine for renewing an offensive against rebels two weeks ago after a ceasefire collapsed. He urged an "unbiased" inquiry. The Malaysia Airlines Boeing 777 was en route from Amsterdam to Kuala Lumpur.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Ukraine, Russia blame each other for downed airliner

Friday, July 18, 2014 - 02:02

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)