Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Barack Obama

What next for the Ukraine crisis?

Friday, July 18, 2014 - 02:18

World leaders demand answers to why a Malaysian Airlines Boeing 777 was apparently shot down over Ukraine. Ciara Sutton looks at the global diplomatic implications of the disaster, and asks: what next for the Ukraine crisis?

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Flowers pile up outside the Dutch embassy in Kiev. 298 people were killed when a Malaysian Airlines passenger jet was downed in the eastern part of the country - 173 of them from the Netherlands. World leaders have been quick to react. They're demanding an international investigation after accusations the plane was brought down by a surface to air missile by Moscow-backed separatists. Mark Rutte is prime minister of the Netherlands. (SOUNDBITE) (Dutch) DUTCH PRIME MINISTER MARK RUTTE SAYING: "The message of the cabinet is that we want to research what has happened, we want to determine who was behind this and I would like to quote my Australian counterpart: "If there were terrorists involved, if there were intentions, that somebody did this on purpose, then we want that everything be done to get those involved in court and that they will be punished accordingly." President Barack Obama says all investigators must be given unhindered access to the crash site. The black box flight recorder could hold the answers to whether the plane was shot down and where the missile might have been fired from. A tug-of-war for possession could now begin. Alisa Lockwood from IHS says the situation looks damaging for Putin. (SOUNDBITE) (English) HEAD OF THE EUROPE/CIS TEAM AT IHS COUNTRY RISK, ALISA LOCKWOOD, SAYING: "Certainly in terms of the statements that have been coming out of Ukraine and the US. Strong condemnations and continuing allegations that Russia is supporting the separatists." The disaster could prove a turning point for international pressure to resolve the crisis in Ukraine. Hundreds have been killed since protests toppled the Moscow-backed president in Kiev 6 months ago.. It's marked the worst crisis between Russia and the West since the Cold War, with the West imposing sanctions on Russia. Pierre Briancon is from Reuters Breakingviews. (SOUNDBITE) (English) REUTERS BREAKINGVIEWS COLUMNIST, PIERRE BRIANCON, SAYING: "This is probably the beginning of the end of the crisis. The separatists are on the wane, the Ukrainian army is going to go in much harder than it would have otherwise." The crash could also have other international implications. Believed to be among those killed were around 100 AIDS delegates including top experts en route to a conference in Melbourne. The loss of some of the industry's best could potentially be a set-back for AIDS research.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

What next for the Ukraine crisis?

Friday, July 18, 2014 - 02:18

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)