Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Breakingviews: Credit Suisse cost cuts

Tuesday, July 22, 2014 - 04:10

The Swiss bank's fine for aiding U.S. tax evasion led to a $780 mln loss. Credit Suisse's tinkering has worked so far. But finding more savings will get increasingly tricky says Breakingviews

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Suite has reported its biggest quarterly loss since the peak of the financial crisis hit with -- now to discuss Dominic and it from breaking -- Dominique does the settlement. Essentially draw -- line until all of Credit -- this problem. Well it's hard to say or of that problems because the very nature of the way find developed nations development and investment banking industry lost few years is that. Just when you think they're getting everything behind them something else Paul solved yet but it's fair to say that the Credit -- achieve big things that are out that. Law it's you know US settlement. And helping. American citizens evade taxes and -- -- -- I think yes stuff around mortgages in the US now stop mortgage stuff was settled and launch. The US tax stuff was gone and malaise set in the last few months since it's clear that -- is -- the big stuff that we know about behind it. Of course there is this restructuring going on as well as its investment banking unit and I was and curious to see that the pretax profits were unchanged for that unit investors have I don't teens shared by that told his shares down 2%. Putted down to the old says the biggest quarterly loss however. Eight meeting you -- on c'mon he's training trading is as a wise me I'll. I think you think about what Chris this is dominates investment bank I have a number of years now so since the crisis. Chris is one of the finest. Trying to think -- can we need to change things fixed income. So they started just tweaking here and are the edges and declined to lots take costs out without a big fun fact that you -- yes how did you know you get sent. We're really going to got the whole operation would change it. The creditors -- is -- -- quietly doing some changes are instilled into administrative. Keeps tinkering it is the way I think content and this new idea to get out of commodities is one that. Many of its rivals have have had time to Deutsche Bank has. Gold out of commodities bought pieces exits as much of commodities business so the US banks and no need to be anybody that really is still. Funny in commodities is Goldman Sachs. It's something that dogs have done mainly because regulation makes it very hard to. Make a profit in commodities based on the -- to -- -- so I think now makes sense the big question I have is what next you know. We've got a lot of -- king we've got a lot of changes to the multiple. Kind of Credit Suisse keep cutting costs without slicing into muscle does not affect the business going forward we can -- that revenues. The rule would dial home. And it's hard to see that -- there's a lot of talk like gripe that so what happens when. The cost cutting program ends at the end of next year we're getting towards the end of that is there anymore. Not hanging fruit I doused him. And and and how much risk is that -- -- -- useful that she cuts in some muscle -- stay in the -- to fall. I think on the whole. All the changes in the fixed income business I've been necessary. And I think that you know they're reviewing. Other bits of the investment habits as well equities for example act is trading. Which is a very much destroying them that if you look at what's happened in that private bank which is crucial. That it's a crucial. Part of the business that they want to be bigger than the investment banks and profitable or at least about the -- An amendment. -- in this cool tech -- wasn't the case how do you improve things that pot is down interest rates rising to about something. That Credit Suisse called dig up much of bottles but you know the performance in this court today has been helped a lawless. By the cost cutting the question is can -- him -- race issue. Say is thank you mentioned Dominique and it from breaking -- that talking about Credit Suisse. They reported the biggest quarterly loss since the key of the financial crisis. And I seen a long and this is what's news.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Breakingviews: Credit Suisse cost cuts

Tuesday, July 22, 2014 - 04:10

Top News »

Most Popular »

Retirement »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Why bruised Brazil is a buy Why bruised Brazil is a buy

Fri, Jul 19, 2013 - (2:48)

3 ways to fix your bond portfolio 3 ways to fix your bond portfolio

Thu, Jul 11, 2013 - (3:10)

The next gold? Diamonds lure investors The next gold? Diamonds lure investors

Wed, Jul 03, 2013 - (2:38)

How to play the Fed’s tapering timeline How to play the Fed’s tapering timeline

Thu, Jun 20, 2013 - (2:34)

How to play banker on the web How to play banker on the web

Tue, Jun 11, 2013 - (2:57)

3 surprises about the 2013 stock rally 3 surprises about the 2013 stock rally

Fri, May 24, 2013 - (2:11)

How to cash in on lawsuits - Investing 201 How to cash in on lawsuits - Investing 201

Tue, Apr 30, 2013 - (2:30)

Rising dollar will drive stocks higher Rising dollar will drive stocks higher

Wed, Apr 10, 2013 - (2:32)

A little-known path to big dividends - Investing 201 A little-known path to big dividends -...

Thu, Apr 04, 2013 - (3:16)

What exactly does Warren Buffett own? - Investing 201 What exactly does Warren Buffett own? -...

Thu, Feb 14, 2013 - (0:51)

Big short bets: Where are they now? - Investing 201 Big short bets: Where are they now? -...

Fri, Dec 21, 2012 - (2:33)

Money Clip »

How to get out of debt How to get out of debt

Thu, Oct 30, 2014 - (3:37)

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

How to break your prenup - Money Clip How to break your prenup - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 07, 2013 - (1:18)

Watch your wallet on Pinterest - Money Clip Watch your wallet on Pinterest - Money Clip

Thu, Feb 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Get set for the big bull run - Money Clip Get set for the big bull run - Money Clip

Thu, Jan 24, 2013 - (3:41)

Moving Pictures »

The world in a city The world in a city

9:56am EDT - (1:30)

Real-life superheroes Real-life superheroes

Tue, Oct 28, 2014 - (1:44)

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)

360° snapshot of life in Kabul 360° snapshot of life in Kabul

Fri, Apr 04, 2014 - (1:26)

A blind teenager, living with vision A blind teenager, living with vision

Thu, Mar 27, 2014 - (3:51)

TIMELAPSE: Backstage at the Oscars TIMELAPSE: Backstage at the Oscars

Wed, Mar 05, 2014 - (2:49)

TIMELAPSE: Lunch with Oscar nominees TIMELAPSE: Lunch with Oscar nominees

Wed, Feb 12, 2014 - (2:55)

Sochi Highlights: Let the games begin Sochi Highlights: Let the games begin

Fri, Feb 07, 2014 - (0:40)

TIMELAPSE: On the Golden Globes red carpet TIMELAPSE: On the Golden Globes red carpet

Tue, Jan 14, 2014 - (3:28)

Pictures of the Year 2013 Pictures of the Year 2013

Fri, Dec 20, 2013 - (3:03)

Marching to the beat of Sousa's drum Marching to the beat of Sousa's drum

Thu, Dec 05, 2013 - (6:11)

The Gettysburg Address The Gettysburg Address

Thu, Nov 28, 2013 - (2:31)

Making Gruyere: A family affair Making Gruyere: A family affair

Wed, Oct 16, 2013 - (5:06)

Abortion: After the decision Abortion: After the decision

Tue, Sep 17, 2013 - (5:46)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters Investigates Lessons of the Jihad Jane case - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (3:43)

Exclusive: Jihad Jane in her own words Exclusive: Jihad Jane in her own words

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (4:11)

Attorney: How a Maryland teenager became radicalized - Reuters Investigates Attorney: How a Maryland teenager became...

Fri, Dec 07, 2012 - (4:21)

Counselor: Jihad Jane at 17 - Reuters Investigates Counselor: Jihad Jane at 17 - Reuters...

Thu, Dec 06, 2012 - (4:17)

Dateline Asia »

Breakingviews: Fleeting QE gains bring emerging market pains Breakingviews: Fleeting QE gains bring...

Wed, Oct 29, 2014 - (2:05)

Regulatory clarity needed on China stock connect -StanChart Regulatory clarity needed on China stock...

Mon, Oct 27, 2014 - (2:56)

Breakingviews: HK-Shanghai disconnect disappoints on reform Breakingviews: HK-Shanghai disconnect...

Sun, Oct 26, 2014 - (2:46)

Asia Week Ahead: Honda air bag crisis to deflate earnings? Asia Week Ahead: Honda air bag crisis to...

Fri, Oct 24, 2014 - (1:52)

FACTBOX: Japan's Abe loses two female ministers in one day FACTBOX: Japan's Abe loses two female...

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:20)

Breakingviews: Indonesia's Jokowi has a parliament problem Breakingviews: Indonesia's Jokowi has a...

Sun, Oct 19, 2014 - (2:19)

Investment Strategies: Don't worry, buy emerging markets Investment Strategies: Don't worry, buy...

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (3:58)

Breakingviews: Worse troubles than Agile brewing in China Breakingviews: Worse troubles than Agile...

Sun, Oct 12, 2014 - (2:35)

NBA's Brooklyn Nets hope to boost global profile in China NBA's Brooklyn Nets hope to boost global...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:09)