Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

World News

Gaza offensive enters third week

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2014 - 01:45

Israel's military offensive in Gaza goes into its third week as the U.S steps up efforts to help bring about a ceasefire. Paul Chapman reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Israeli air strikes overnight brought the offensive on Gaza into its third week and the total death toll on both sides heading rapidly towards 600. By Tuesday morning at least 550 Palestinians had lost their lives since the conflict began. Most of them were civilians and nearly 100 of them children, according to Palestinian health officials. Israel's dead stood at 29 including two civilians killed by Palestinian rocket fire. U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry is continuing his diplomatic push for a ceasefire in Egypt. On Tuesday he held talks with Egypt's Foreign Minister Sameh Shukri. (SOUNDBITE) (English) U.S. SECRETARY OF STATE JOHN KERRY, SAYING: "I look forward to a good conversation to talk about how we can build on it and hopefully find, not only a way to a ceasefire, but a way to deal with the underlying issues which are very complicated, so I'm very grateful to my friend for his efforts." In Tel Aviv, rival demonstrations by Israelis and Israeli Arabs for and against the offensive highlight the intensity of feeling on both sides. (SOUNDBITE) ISRAELI RESIDENT OF TEL AVIV, EATHAN MARIZOV, SAYING: "We are coming here to express our support and solidarity for all the soldiers that are currently now defending our country. This is an operation that is a must. They are just defending our country." (SOUNDBITE) HEAD OF THE ISLAMIC MOVEMENT IN JAFFA, WAEL MUHAMEED, SAYING: "Tonight we are here, gathering all the Muslims of Jaffa, its Arab population, its Palestinian population, who are here protesting against the Israeli occupation in Gaza and we think that the army of Israel is killing many women, children and men." The U.S. has announced a $47 million humanitarian aid package to help Gaza's residents. Even so, U.S. officials are admitting diplomatic efforts to find a ceasefire wouldn't be easy.

Gaza offensive enters third week

Tuesday, Jul 22, 2014 - 01:45

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)