Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Personal Finance

Wall Street ends higher; tech giants report

Tuesday, July 22, 2014 - 02:40

Summary: Apple and Microsoft report earnings; Chrysler's giant recall; Ukraine tensions ease; Investors shrug at Bill Ackman's Herbalife ''deathblow''; China meat scare spreads. Lily Jamali reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

After-hours earnings announcements from two tech giants. Strong iPhone sales in China helping Apple surpass expectations. Prior to revealing earnings, the stock got an early boost after announcing a bigger iPhone screen..on the way. Microsoft missing earnings but sales came in better than expected. Also after the closing bell: Chrysler recalling an estimated 792,000, as the company investigates faulty ignition switches similar to the GM recall. The Dow, the S&P 500, and the Nasdaq.. all posting gains during the regular session. Chipotle the standout, adding 12%, investors cheering its Monday earnings beat. . European markets also ended higher across the board due - in part - to developments in Ukraine. Pro-Russian separatists are now cooperating with Malaysian authorities, handing over victims remains and the data recorder from the airliner shot down last week. The conflict between Israel and Hamas is now impacting airlines. Delta and U.S. Airways canceling flights over Israel after a rocket reportedly landed near Tel Aviv's main airport. Here in the U.S. - surging gas prices boosting inflation in June. U.S. consumer prices rose 0.3%. Also rising in June: the pace of existing home sales - up to their fastest pace in 8 months. Bill Ackman speaks - Herbalife stock surges. The activist investor, who's short the stock, presenting evidence he says shows the nutrition and weight loss company is a pyramid scheme. And taking a jab at Herbalife Chairman and CEO Michael Johnson. SOUNDBITE: BILL ACKMAN, CEO, PERSHING SQUARE CAPITAL MANAGEMENT (ENGLISH) SAYING: "Michael Johnson is a predator. This is a criminal enterprise. I hope you're listening Michael. It's time to shut the company down. It's time to shut the company down." The stock fell 11 percent when he first said he would make the presentation on Monday- making up those losses, and then some. Starbucks and Burger King in China - saying they've sourced meat from a Chinese unit of a U.S. supplier caught using expired meat- the same supplier that McDonald's and Yum Brands said on Monday they used. McDonald's is among the earnings losers Tuesday: Profits are down on weak sales in the U.S. and Europe. Coca-Cola missing estimates as growth in North America falters. And Harley-Davidson cut its outlook on weak U.S. sales. Earnings winners include: Comcast, which saw a profit boost from internet subscriber growth. Lender CIT Group - beating earnings and also announcing it would buy the parent company of OneWest Bank.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Wall Street ends higher; tech giants report

Tuesday, July 22, 2014 - 02:40

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)