Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Barack Obama

Israel's military offensive presses on, Kerry seeks ceasefire

Wednesday, July 23, 2014 - 01:29

Fighting rages as Israel presses on with its ground offensive in Gaza, on a mission to destroy hidden tunnels and militants' missile stockpiles. Jillian Kitchener reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Inside is dark, but their mission is clear. Israel says it's committed to removing hidden tunnels used by Hamas fighters in Gaza, and destroying the militants' missile stockpiles. U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry, meanwhile, is in the region, pressing for a ceasefire... meeting separately with Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu and Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas. (SOUNDBITE) (English) US SECRETARY OF STATE JOHN KERRY SAYING: "We will continue to work with President Abbas and others in the region in order to achieve it, and I can tell you that we have in the last 24 hours, made some progress in moving towards that goal." Palestinian negotiator Saeb Erekat says their meeting was focused on a ceasefire AND lifting the blockade of Gaza: (SOUNDBITE) (Arabic) PALESTINIAN NEGOTIATOR SAEB EREKAT, SAYING: "This is not a war on the Gaza Strip or on Hamas. This is a war on the Palestinian people. This is not self-defence. This is a defence of settlement expansion, aggression and blockade." With minimal belongings, thousands continue to flee their homes in Gaza - seeking shelter in other parts of the impoverished enclave. And in the West Bank, Palestinians are sending a clear message to the United Nations -- the death toll is rising.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Israel's military offensive presses on, Kerry seeks ceasefire

Wednesday, July 23, 2014 - 01:29

Top News »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)