Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

UBS latest bank in firing line

Thursday, July 24, 2014 - 01:37

UBS takes its turn dealing with the onslaught of litigation against the banking sector. The Swiss group has been ordered to pay $1.48 billion in bail as part of a French tax evasion probe. Joanna Partridge reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

It's just the latest big charge to be levied against a bank. This time - Switzerland's UBS ordered to pay a 1.1 billion euro guarantee by French judges. The French prosecutor's office says it reflects the size of the fine it could face - if found guilty of helping wealthy French customers to avoid tax. UBS had previously been told it was under formal investigation in France over allegations it laundered the proceeds of tax evasion. The Swiss lender said in a statement it considers the legal basis for this sum, and the calculation, to be "deeply flawed" and would appeal. UBS has previously been put under formal investigation by a French prosecutor on different charges. There's also the threat of other fines and settlements hanging over UBS - relating to alleged collusion and manipulation of foreign exchange rates. One estimate says the bank could face up to $8 billion in fines and settlements relating to that. But the Swiss bank isn't alone in this - and calculating the liabilities can be little better than guesswork. Andrea Williams from Royal London Asset Management. SOUNDBITE (English) ANDREA WILLIAMS, SENIOR FUND MANAGER, ROYAL LONDON ASSET MANAGEMENT, SAYING: "You just don't know what's coming next and what the size of the charge could be. Nobody thought that BNP would have to settle for the 7 billion or whatever it was that they did, I mean it started off as 500 million. And I think the problem is you can't read across to other banks, each charge is different depending on the scale and how long the crime was ongoing as it were." Banks have been working to clean up their act - but the shadow of their alleged past misdeeds doesn't appear to have gone away.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

UBS latest bank in firing line

Thursday, July 24, 2014 - 01:37

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)