Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Ryanair's profits take off

Sunday, Jul 27, 2014 - 01:32

Ryanair raised its full-year profit forecast after reporting a better-than-expected 152 percent surge in first quarter net income. It comes as rivals have cut their profit guidance. As Hayley Platt reports, the Irish budget airline says it's got a boost from its drive to improve customer service.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Ryanair's move to adopt a more 'touchy feely' image seems to be paying off. Profits in the first quarter more than doubled to 197 million euros, and a jump of 152% from a year earlier. It's largely thanks to an early Easter, which turned out to be better-than-expected. IG's Alastair McCaig. SOUNDBITE: Alastair McCaig, Market analyst, IG, saying (English): "Their figures are pretty impressive, surprisingly so the fact that Mr O'Leary is saying no over exuberance should be obtained on the back of this, in itself is slightly surprising that the whole statement and the whole set of figures has really taken the market by surprise." The stock rose more than 5 percent on opening. And shareholders should be further cheered as Ryanair plans to return 520 million euros to them through a special dividend later in the year. As the Irish budget carrier is boosting its annual profit guidance, some of its rivals are cutting theirs. IG's Alastair McCaig SOUNDBITE: Alastair McCaig, Market analyst, IG, saying (English): "The likes of KLM and Lufthansa are really struggling, profits warnings coming out from them and you've got to imagine that Ryanair are picking up some of the slack being seen there." Europe's biggest budget airline's pledge last year to improve services is well underway. Customers can now pre-book their seats. Restrictions on hand luggage have been relaxed. And penalty charges cut. It says it will continue making changes. And although the company sees traffic growing 3 percent in the first half of the year, it also remains cautious about what it describes as the ongoing difficult economic environment.

Ryanair's profits take off

Sunday, Jul 27, 2014 - 01:32

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)