Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Business

Three's a crowd in U.S. telco bid battle

Friday, August 01, 2014 - 02:01

French upstart Iliad threatens to upset the telecoms apple-cart with an audacious $15bn dollar offer for T-Mobile US. But can it succeed in elbowing aside Sprint in its bid to grab a share of the U.S.'s large and lucrative market? Sara Hemrajani reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

The ongoing courtship between telecom giants T-Mobile US and Sprint has been given a sudden jolt by a French upstart. Iliad has now made a bid of its own for T-Mobile US, offering $15 billion in cash for just over half the company. This paves the way for a battle with Sprint's owner SoftBank, who's been in talks to buy T-Mobile US for months. But that merger has been stalled by the American communications watchdog. Regulators have made it clear they don't want to see further consolidation at the top of the industry - and this is where Iliad may have the edge. The discount mobile carrier is said to believe its bid is unlikely to involve an anti-trust investigation since it wouldn't change the number of companies operating in the US. Still, some say Iliad's billionaire founder Xavier Niel could be reaching beyond his scope. Reuters Breakingviews' Quentin Webb. SOUNDBITE: Quentin Webb, Columnist, Reuters Breakingviews., saying (English): "Well it's a sort of step change for him. He has already transformed French mobile with a very low cost offer and built sort of 13% market share in just a couple of years. But the US is a much bigger market. He's sort of straining at the seams to kind of raise the financing to do this, and taking on SoftBank, which is already intending to merge the unit with its own Sprint." Iliad plummeted as much as 13% when its offer was announced - the stock's biggest drop in eight years. Many traders say the French firm's price for T-Mobile US is too low to be considered seriously. But, according to Titan Investment's Darren Sinden, this is a win-win situation for Iliad. SOUNDBITE: Darren Sinden, Titan Investment., saying (English): "So Iliad, why not, they're innovative, they're cheeky, they've put something on the table. If they get it, they'll have done very well. If not, they've really not lost anything and they'll have raised the profile considerably by making a bid, and no doubt they'll have another target in mind in due course." Whether its audacious move proves successful or not, Iliad's actions could encourage other foreign telecoms to take a closer look at the lucrative US market, giving the sector a real shake-up.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Three's a crowd in U.S. telco bid battle

Friday, August 01, 2014 - 02:01

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Thu, Jul 03, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)