Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

9/11

"We have to bring him home": Israeli army spokesman

Friday, August 01, 2014 - 01:41

Israeli army spokesperson says two Israeli soldiers were killed and one captured when militants attacked soldiers searching for tunnels in Gaza. Deborah Lutterbeck reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

A new front has opened in the Mideast conflict after the abduction of an Israeli soldier says Israeli army spokesman Lieutenant-Colonel Peter Lerner. (SOUNDBITE)(English) ISRAELI ARMY SPOKESPERSON, LIEUTENANT-COLONEL PETER LERNER, SAYING: "A half after the ceasefire was in place, the humanitarian ceasefire, two terrorists came out of a tunnel. One of them detonated himself in a suicide bombing attack, killing two soldiers. Another one came out, shooting with an automatic weapon and in the aftermath of that we noticed that we had an officer that had been abducted into the tunnel. Indeed we began to pursue this attack, we went to the tunnel. Unfortunately we haven't been able to locate him up to now." A 72-hour ceasefire was the most ambitious attempt so far to end more than three weeks of fighting. (SOUNDBITE)(English) ISRAELI ARMY SPOKESPERSON, LIEUTENANT-COLONEL PETER LERNER, SAYING: "The situation on the ground is much more complex now. Until this morning we had two main goals in this mission, to deal with the tunnels and to address the rocket threat. Now we have a third component of our mission and we have to bring him home." The army is operating under the assumption that the soldier, Hadar Goldin, is still alive. His father is conflident he will come home. (SOUNDBITE) (Hebrew) FATHER OF MISSING ISRAELI SOLDIER, SIMCHA GOLDIN, SAYING: "We want to support the Israeli army and the state of Israel in its fight against Hamas in Gaza and we are certain that the army will not stop under any circumstance, and will not leave any stone unturned in the Gaza Strip and will bring Hadar back home safe and sound." Gaza officials say more than 1,500 Palestinians, mostly civilians, have died in the conflict. Sixty-three Israeli soldiers have been killed and three civilians have been killed by Palestinian rockets in Israel.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

"We have to bring him home": Israeli army spokesman

Friday, August 01, 2014 - 01:41

Top News »

Most Popular »

Retirement »

Back to work- in retirement Back to work- in retirement

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 - (2:09)

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)