Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Personal Finance

Stocks recover with refocus on earnings

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 - 02:19

Summary: Wall Street had its best day in two weeks, partly recovering from its worst week in more than two years. AIG reports after the close. Michael Kors cut down on expansion concerns. Disney breaks August record. Conway G. Gittens reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Wall Street got back into the swing of things following the stock market's worst week in more than two years. It was the biggest rally in two weeks as investors refocus on an earnings season that is going better than expected. That continued after the close, American International Group beat expectations with a 12-1/2 percent gain in earnings. Fashion and merchandising company Kors out with results earlier in the day. Sales topped forecast and profits did as well, but the company's expansion plans causing investors to take some money off the table. Kors was the worst performing stock in the S&P 500. Good news for Disney heading into Tuesday's results. "Guardians of the Galaxy", the latest flick from Disney-Marvel Studios, broke box office records for an August debut, taking in $94 million in domestic sales. What makes this an even more heroic feat - these superheros did better in ticket sales than recent sequels from Spider-Man and X-Men, according to Box Office Mojo.com. Staying in Hollywood, Sandra Bullock is now Tinseltown's highest paid actress. Last year's hit "Gravity" helped lift her to the top with estimated earnings of $51 million, according to the Forbes List. Big talk in Washington about economic ties to Africa. The White House is hosting a three-day summit with African politicians and business leaders. Some $1 billion in business deals tied to the continent are expected to be announced. First, an opening call for courage from U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry. SOUNDBITE: U.S. SECRETARY OF STATE JOHN KERRY (ENGLISH) SAYING: "Fighting corruption lifts more than a country's balance sheet. Transparency and accountability attract greater investment. Transparency and accountability create a more competitive marketplace, one where ideas and products are judged by the market and by their merits and not by a back room deal or by a bribe. The market always works better with transparency and with the sunshine of accountability." In Europe, little sunshine for the markets with focus on the banks. London's HSBC warns rising regulatory burdens are hurting the banking business, while in Portugal, a $2.9 billion rescue of trouble lender Banco Espirito Santo.

Stocks recover with refocus on earnings

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 - 02:19

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)