Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

World News

Gaza war has "shocked and shamed the world": Ban Ki-moon

Wednesday, August 06, 2014 - 01:43

A Gaza ceasefire is holding on its second day but the U.N., along with affected residents, say it has come at a huge price. Jillian Kitchener reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Half way through the 72-hour truce and the ceasefire is holding. Israeli tanks are massed at the border with Gaza, but the guns are silent. Negotiations for lasting peace are moving forward. But the United Nations is deeply concerned. Secretary General Ban Ki-Moon says the international community cannot rest while the suffering in Gaza continues: (SOUNDBITE) (English) BAN KI-MOON, UNITED NATIONS SECRETARY-GENERAL, SAYING: "This ceasefire has come at a price that is almost too much to bear. The massive death and destruction in Gaza have shocked and shamed the world." It's a sentiment echoed in the conflict zone, where Gazan residents come out of hiding and return to their flattened homes. (SOUNDBITE) (Arabic) SHEJAIA RESIDENT HUDA HASSAN, SAYING: "Complete destruction, we have never seen anything like it. We witnessed three wars, but we never saw anything like this. It's complete destruction on everyone." And on the streets of Jerusalem, Israelis have mixed feelings about the results after three weeks of fighting. (SOUNDBITE) (English) JERUSALEM RESIDENT DONNY KLIGMAN SAYING: "Ultimately it was a success, but whenever we have quiet, it's simply time for Hamas to replan." News outlets in the region are offering conflicting views of the war, but Israeli analyst Alon Ben David says the damage inflicted by Israel on Gaza, does not make Israel the winner. (SOUNDBITE) (English) ANALYST AND SENIOR DEFENCE CORRESPONDENT FOR LOCAL CHANNELS, ALON BEN DAVID, SAYING: "Israel wanted peace in return for peace and calm in return for calm, and got it - but in the price of 64 soldiers and three civilians." And while Egyptian mediators pursue talks with both sides, residents in Gaza hold onto hope for lasting peace in the region.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Gaza war has "shocked and shamed the world": Ban Ki-moon

Wednesday, August 06, 2014 - 01:43

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)