Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

The Trail

Jackson Hole 2014: Laboring for a grip on when to hike

Sunday, August 24, 2014 - 02:28

Global central bankers and Fed officials devote the 2014 Jackson Hole policy conference to labor markets, the linchpin in the decision on when to begin hiking U.S. rates after five years of stimulus.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Sports with Reuters that Jackson late march with a world central bankers are just wrapping up their annual go global central banking summit. Now the highlight of course was that your -- he delegates each. And her conclusion was that the Fed still has at least for now more room to keep the pedal to metal on stimulus. Of course are those within the Fed who were David yellen and the others aren't getting behind the curve. People like Charlie Plosser of Philadelphia fed wanted to move quickly to get rates higher. The -- at this point is better for us to start raising rates and -- -- gradually went so wrong mark on. We don't feel like -- Yeah. Here's John Taylor a Stanford University. Who says that they should keep its eye on the bigger picture which includes of course inflation. And grow. Which hasn't been put into -- And there are others like Alan Blinder. Former fed vice chairman. Who heard -- speech and thought it was a thoughtful assessment. Of the unemployment situation in this country -- Right now. But then check. She insane things. My dad sometime. The of course were the reasons. All the central bankers gathered here in Jackson Hole it's that they can spend a little bit of quiet time together have conversations about policy. How those policies might affect other countries around the world. News Agilent hikes and discuss the things we saw Jeremy gallon barrier drug you European Central Bank discussing. Policy matters or maybe just personal matters yesterday. -- for example at a speech where he. Said very clearly. That the European situation is on the brink in the ECB might have to go in the other direction and actually had stimulus. Now all in all it shows the United States is probably in -- better situation and much of the developed world and that is probably some -- combined as day esoteric battle in the bed. Play out in the months and years ahead. I'm -- inspector for Reuters.

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

Jackson Hole 2014: Laboring for a grip on when to hike

Sunday, August 24, 2014 - 02:28

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)