Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Lifestyle

These musicians play nothing but fresh air

Tuesday, September 02, 2014 - 01:30

A 19-year-old from Japan conquers the competition to be crowned Air Guitar World Champion in Finland. Tara Cleary reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Keisuke the Ninja … Air Grinder … The Destroyer … and reigning U.S. champion, Airistotle. The world's best air guitarists flashed their nimble moves in Finland at the 19th Air Guitar World Championships. And even if some people think it's downright ridiculous, for the contestants, the discipline is all about freedom. SOUNDBITE: Michael "The Destroyer" Heffels from the Netherlands, saying (English): "I think people should come over here at least go look at a contest and watch some air guitar players because for to me it is really awesome and liberating." SOUNDBITE: Marquina "Marteeka" Iliev from the United States, saying (English): "I think air guitar means freedom of movements, freedom of expression, it's a great way to have fun and it's also about world peace because you can't kill someone with an air guitar in your hand." The winner - of the competition and a hand-made electric guitar, was Nanami "Seven Seas" Nagura from Japan. SOUNDBITE: Nanami "Seven Seas" Nagura, 2014 Air Guitar World Champion from Japan, saying (English): "I love all, I love air guitar, I'm glad to come to Finland and I'm glad to fight the air-guitar world championship final stage and win." And what better way to celebrate than jamming with your air-handed friends?

Press CTRL+C (Windows), CMD+C (Mac), or long-press the URL below on your mobile device to copy the code

These musicians play nothing but fresh air

Tuesday, September 02, 2014 - 01:30

Top News »

Most Popular »

Investing 201 »

Bond investors brace for the end of Fed stimulus Bond investors brace for the end of Fed...

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 - (4:03)

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

Money Clip »

Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments? Will Apple Pay transform mobile payments?

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 - (2:45)

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Dance of the northern lights Dance of the northern lights

Mon, Oct 20, 2014 - (1:08)

Images of September Images of September

Wed, Oct 01, 2014 - (1:00)

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)