Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Personal Finance

Alibaba boosts IPO; investors sell tech

6:42pm EDT - 02:27

Summary: Tech shares whacked as investors make room for Alibaba, which boosted its IPO after the market close; Apple says iPhone 6 pre-orders smash record; GM payout for deaths rise to 19; wild speculation about possible beer mergers. Conway G. Gittens reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

Alibaba isn't even public yet and it is already impacting markets. The Nasdaq spent most of the session down by at least one percent. The Dow and the S&P 500 finished higher. Alibaba took its roadshow to Hong Kong, but investors are focused on what happened in the U.S. The Chinese e-commerce company boosted the price of its IPO to between $66 and $68 a share, from the original range of $60 to $66. The number of shares offered remains the same, according to the amended filing. The market debut is still likely the world's biggest. Investors lightened up on tech like Facebook, Trip Advisor, Netflix, Amazon and Twitter to make room for the debut in their portfolio. Yahoo, Alibaba's big stakeholder gets a big payday from the IPO, but its shares faltered after hitting a 14-year high. Apple says it took more than four million pre-orders for the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus in the first 24 hours, declaring that a record. Scott Kessler of S&P Capital IQ has a "hold" rating on the stock. SOUNDBITE: SCOTT KESSLER, SECTOR HEAD, TECHNOLOGY EQUITY RESEARCH, S&P CAPITAL IQ: "Honestly, look this is pretty good news to see the significant pre-sales data and the stock is barely moving today. That says to us what we have been thinking is perhaps correct, which is a lot of the good news is priced into the stock at this point." 19 deaths will now be part of General Motors compensation plan, instead of the 13 previously linked to a faulty ignition switch. And there could be even more. Ken Feinberg, the highly-respected attorney overseeing the process, is still reviewing claims tied to the 2.6 million cars recalled for a glitch that caused cars to stall and airbags not to activate. Shares of General Motors climbing a full percent. On the data front, industrial production slipped for the first time in seven months in August as auto activity stalled.

Alibaba boosts IPO; investors sell tech

6:42pm EDT - 02:27

Top News »

Investing 201 »

Arian Foster = BlackBerry? Arian Foster = BlackBerry?

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 - (3:16)

Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs Don’t miss these red flags for IPOs

Thu, Oct 10, 2013 - (2:34)

Copycat currency trading Copycat currency trading

Wed, Oct 02, 2013 - (2:28)

When to dump a winner When to dump a winner

Tue, Sep 24, 2013 - (1:55)

Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers Where gold might again attract Jim Rogers

Thu, Sep 19, 2013 - (2:05)

Why savings interest rates won't budge Why savings interest rates won't budge

Fri, Sep 13, 2013 - (2:09)

Buy local? ETFs try the trend Buy local? ETFs try the trend

Thu, Sep 05, 2013 - (2:42)

The better bond funds The better bond funds

Wed, Aug 07, 2013 - (2:40)

Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks Best bargain in 40 years? European stocks

Thu, Aug 01, 2013 - (2:24)

Invest like an activist Invest like an activist

Fri, Jul 26, 2013 - (2:49)

Money Clip »

3 things to do before disaster strikes 3 things to do before disaster strikes

Wed, Sep 18, 2013 - (1:39)

Your must-do money list Your must-do money list

Wed, Sep 11, 2013 - (1:24)

The worst "best" financial advice The worst "best" financial advice

Wed, Sep 04, 2013 - (1:42)

Forget gold: The case for REITs Forget gold: The case for REITs

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 - (1:19)

3 rules for buying a house now 3 rules for buying a house now

Thu, Apr 18, 2013 - (1:39)

“Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip “Stalking” your dream home - Money Clip

Wed, Mar 27, 2013 - (2:50)

3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip 3 hidden tax deductions - Money Clip

Thu, Mar 21, 2013 - (1:33)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

Still missing – MH370 Still missing – MH370

Fri, Sep 05, 2014 - (2:05)

Images of August Images of August

Fri, Aug 29, 2014 - (1:00)

Burning Together Burning Together

Mon, Sep 01, 2014 - (2:23)

Mending dolls, teddies and hearts Mending dolls, teddies and hearts

Fri, Aug 22, 2014 - (3:12)

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)