Reuters - Video

EDITION: U.S. | U.K. | IN

Top News

Iraqi Yazidis flee violence, cross into Turkey

8:01pm EDT - 01:32

Fleeing the violence and instability in their homeland, Iraqi Yazidis trek a dusty mountain road on foot to seek refuge across the border in Turkey. Mana Rabiee reports.

▲ Hide Transcript

View Transcript

It's a dusty mountain road that takes you from Iraq into Turkey. Scores of Iraqi Yazidi refugees are making the long trek across this mountain route to escape the fighting in their ancient homeland. Sunni militants advancing through northern Iraq consider this ethic minority devil worshippers. They've threatened entire villages with execution if they don't convert to Islam. Many Yazidis fled into Sinjar mountain within Iraq but many, too, have continued their journey on foot into Turkey, where they're sheltering in villages. (SOUNDBITE) (Kurdish) FLEEING YAZIDI, DAVOUD SILO, SAYING: "We have been walking for seven hours. Some prefer to stay but we came this far. We were told a car would drive here to pick us up and we waited for two hours but it didn't come." Tens of thousands of Yazidis are now displaced. This group traveled by tractor for days and they're still in Iraq. So traumatized by their ordeal, they sit idle under the trees as the others continue into Turkey. (SOUNDBITE) (Kurdish) UNIDENTIFIED DISPLACED MAN SAYING: "We have been traveling for ten days. We went to Zaho from Sinjar mountain. After staying in Zaho for a week, we took the roads again two days ago." The border with Iraq is some 370 kilometers long -- that's about 230 miles. Turkey has been alarmed by the advance of Islamic State fighters towards Arbil. That's the capital of the Iraqi Kurdish region which -- until now -- has been a buffer for Turkey against the instability further south.

Iraqi Yazidis flee violence, cross into Turkey

8:01pm EDT - 01:32

Most Popular »

Money »

S&P falls back from record high S&P falls back from record high

5:35pm EDT - (1:35)

S&P 500 closes at new high S&P 500 closes at new high

Thu, Aug 21, 2014 - (1:24)

S&P 500 just shy of record S&P 500 just shy of record

Wed, Aug 20, 2014 - (2:23)

Apple hits $100 a share Apple hits $100 a share

Tue, Aug 19, 2014 - (2:06)

Nasdaq closes at 14-year high Nasdaq closes at 14-year high

Mon, Aug 18, 2014 - (2:23)

Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood Putin puts Wall Street in buying mood

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (2:10)

We've become a promotional culture-RetailMeNot's Bodge We've become a promotional...

Thu, Aug 14, 2014 - (4:39)

Dow back to positive territory for year Dow back to positive territory for year

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 - (2:18)

Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit Markets cheer Russia's Ukraine exit

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (1:50)

Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low Russia, Iraq push Dow to three-month low

Thu, Aug 07, 2014 - (2:27)

Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected Wall Street gains but telecom disconnected

Wed, Aug 06, 2014 - (2:28)

The Exchange »

The Exchange: Hot commodity The Exchange: Hot commodity

Wed, Jul 16, 2014 - (9:25)

The Exchange: Constitutional crusade The Exchange: Constitutional crusade

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 - (11:35)

The Exchange: The value of money The Exchange: The value of money

Mon, Jun 02, 2014 - (9:53)

The Exchange: China’s Second Continent The Exchange: China’s Second Continent

Tue, May 27, 2014 - (9:35)

The Exchange: A master of business arts The Exchange: A master of business arts

Thu, May 08, 2014 - (8:24)

The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities The Exchange: America's bankrupt cities

Mon, May 05, 2014 - (8:52)

The Exchange: Let the rocking commence The Exchange: Let the rocking commence

Tue, Apr 08, 2014 - (8:13)

The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies The Exchange: The Moneyball fallacies

Mon, Mar 24, 2014 - (9:54)

Is doing good a good business? Is doing good a good business?

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 - (7:38)

Reuters Investigates »

Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead" Re-homing victim: "I could have been dead"

Wed, Feb 19, 2014 - (8:24)

Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest Cops and loggers in the Amazon rainforest

Fri, Jan 10, 2014 - (4:01)

"Passed around like a dog" "Passed around like a dog"

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (6:32)

Adopted, then abandoned online Adopted, then abandoned online

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 - (13:21)

How the DEA keeps its secrets secret How the DEA keeps its secrets secret

Mon, Aug 05, 2013 - (1:36)

How education lost its role as the great equalizer - Reuters Investigates How education lost its role as the great...

Mon, Dec 17, 2012 - (7:52)

Jihad Jane: From abused child to American jihadist - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: From abused child to American...

Sat, Dec 08, 2012 - (10:01)

Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters Investigates Jihad Jane: The order to kill - Reuters...

Sun, Dec 09, 2012 - (10:39)

Moving Pictures »

"Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay "Old timers" sail the Chesapeake Bay

Mon, Aug 11, 2014 - (2:27)

Burned memories Burned memories

Fri, Aug 08, 2014 - (3:02)

Images of July Images of July

Thu, Jul 31, 2014 - (1:20)

World Cup: passion on the pitch World Cup: passion on the pitch

Fri, Jul 11, 2014 - (1:00)

A refugee in America gives back A refugee in America gives back

Wed, Jul 02, 2014 - (3:25)

A long search for refuge A long search for refuge

Fri, Jun 20, 2014 - (3:04)

World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals World Cup: Around the globe in 50 goals

Fri, Jun 06, 2014 - (1:08)

VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light VIVID – Sydney’s spectacle of light

Fri, May 30, 2014 - (1:37)

The week that changed Boston The week that changed Boston

Mon, Apr 14, 2014 - (3:28)