Cricket News

FACTBOX-Cricket-South Africa v England, second test

Jan 2 (Reuters) - Factbox on the second test between South Africa and England, which begins on Friday:


Jan. 3-7 (10.30 a.m local time/0830 GMT)


Newlands, Cape Town (25,000 capacity)


Umpires: Paul Reiffel (Australia), Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)

Third umpire: Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)


World ranking: 3

Coach: Mark Boucher

Captain: Faf du Plessis

Team (likely): Dean Elgar, Pieter Malan, Zubayr Hamza, Faf du Plessis, Rassie van der Dussen, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Dwaine Pretorius, Vernon Philander, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje.


World ranking: 4

Coach: Chris Silverwood

Captain: Joe Root

Team (likely): Rory Burns, Dom Sibley, Joe Denly, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Ollie Pope, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Sam Curran, Dominic Bess, Stuart Broad, James Anderson.


1889 - England won by an innings and 202 runs

1892 - England won by an innings and 189 runs

1896 - England won by an innings and 33 runs

1899 - England won by 210 runs

1906 - England won by four wickets

1906 - South Africa won by an innings and 16 runs

1910 - South Africa won by four wickets

1910 - England won by nine wickets

1923 - England won by one wicket

1927-28 - England won by 87 runs

1931 - Match drawn

1938-39 - Match drawn

1949 - Match drawn

1957 - England won by 312 runs

1965 - Match drawn

1996 - South Africa won by 10 wickets

2000 - South Africa won by an innings and 37 runs

2005 - South Africa won by 196 runs

2010 - Match drawn

2016 - Match drawn (Compiled by Shrivathsa Sridhar in Bengaluru Editing by Christian Radnedge)