February 5, 2020 / 7:57 PM / 15 days ago

Team-owned CS:GO league Flashpoint introduced

CS:GO league B Site announced Wednesday it has rebranded as Flashpoint, a franchise-owned 12-team league.

Among the teams participating are Dignitas, Gen.G and Cloud9.

A news release issued Wednesday said Flashpoint was formed to “address the core issues threatening the future of CS:GO sports: a lack of stability and long-term investments.” The statement said Flashpoint also will offer fans “a grittier show targeted at adults that takes inspiration from the WWE and UFC.”

Flashpoint will take place offline in a live studio in Los Angeles with a prize pool of more $2 million in 2020. The league also will provide a $25,000 monthly stipend for up-and-coming teams without backing organizations.

Esports veterans Duncan “Thorin” Shields and Christopher “MonteCristo” Mykles are among those who will run league operations as well as appear as on-screen personalities.

Flashpoint action kicks off with the start of open qualifiers across Europe, North America and South America beginning Feb. 6. These qualifiers will culminate in a live LAN final in Los Angeles on March 3-5 with a $100,000 prize pool and two spots in the league on the line.

—Field Level Media

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below