May 7, 2020 / 2:30 AM / a month ago

Joke jukes into Madden NFL 20 Bowl quarterfinals

Despite a last-minute loss in his final game Wednesday, Raidel “Joke” Brito won Group A to earn a spot in the Madden NFL 20 Bowl quarterfinals.

Michael “VoLTeRaX” Bryant came in second place and Pavan “Pavan” Lakhat finished third, with both advancing to the wild-card round. Joke, VoLTeRaX and Pavan also went 2-1, but Joke emerged on top thanks to the point-differential tiebreaker.

Reginald “Boogz” Brown finished 0-3 and was eliminated, but he had a chance late in his last game to advance. Trailing VoLTeRaX 7-3, Boogz had possession deep in his opponent’s territory, but he threw a game-sealing interception with seven seconds to go.

Joke, a 26-year-old from West New York, N.J., opened his finale against Pavan with a first-minute interception return for a touchdown, and he led 12-6 into the final minute.

Pavan drove into Joke territory, then got a 22-yard touchdown pass from Michael Vick to John Ross with seven seconds left when Joke overcommitted to the run. The extra point sealed a 13-12 victory for Pavan, a 19-year-old from Yuba City, Calif.

Joke earlier downed Boogz 22-6 and defeated Volt 31-14.

VoLTeRaX, a 22-year-old from Williamstown, Mass., topped Pavan 17-6. Pavan posted a 28-7 victory over Boogz, a 32-year-old from Atlanta.

Madden Bowl group play continues Thursday with Group B, Friday with Group C and Saturday with Group D.

The wild-card round will be held May 14, followed by the quarterfinals on May 15. The semifinals and final will be held May 16, airing from 5-9 p.m. ET on ESPN.

All matches are available for streaming on the EA Sports’ Twitch and YouTube channels plus the ESPN app.

Madden Bowl group standings, with win-loss record and point differential

Group A (played Wednesday)

1. Raidel “Joke” Brito, 2-1, +16

2. Michael “VoLTeRaX” Bryant, 2-1, -6

3. Pavan “Pavan” Lakhat, 2-1, -10

4. Reginald “Boogz” Brown, 0-3, -41

Group B (scheduled for Thursday)

Shay “Young Kiv” Kivlen

Zack “Serious Moe” Lane

Drini “Drini” Gjoka

Jordan “Millz” Thompson

Group C (scheduled for Friday)

Noah “Noah” Johnson

Dwayne “CleffTheGod” Wood

Justin “Lil Man” Barone

Mark “Schemin” Samuels Jr.

Group D (scheduled for Saturday)

Henry “Henry” Leverette

Daniel “Rage” Loftin

Wesley “Wesley” Gittens

Daniel “Dcroft” Mycroft

—Field Level Media

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below