World News

Spain to open borders to EU Schengen countries on June 21 - reports

A man wearing a protective face mask with the Spanish flag looks on as people gather to hold a minute of silence during the last day of the official ten-day mourning of those who died of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19), at Puerta del Sol square in Madrid, Spain June 5, 2020. REUTERS/Sergio Perez

MADRID (Reuters) - Spain will open its borders to countries in the European Union’s Schengen area on June 21, except for Portugal where the border will open on July 1 as previously announced, Spanish media including El Pais newspaper and Ser radio station reported.

The Spanish government had previously said it would allow foreign tourists to enter Spain on July 1 without self-quarantining, apart from the Balearic Islands which could start receiving tourists on Monday as part of a test programme.

Reporting by Joan Faus; Editing by Mark Potter