December 14, 2011 / 10:45 PM / 6 years ago

National Press Foundation Honors Fox News' Chris Wallace

The National Press Foundation honored Fox News' Chris Wallace for broadcast excellence and David Newhouse as editor of the year award for his oversight of the Harrisburg Patriot-News' coverage of the Penn State sexual abuse scandal.

Wallace will receive the Sol Taishoff Award for broadcast excellence, an award “given to an active broadcaster for a body of quality work in video or audio journalism,” at the group's annual awards dinner March 7.

Wallace is the host of "Fox News Sunday." He started his broadcast career at NBC, where he stayed for 14 years before moving on to ABC in 1989. Wallace joined Fox in 2003, the same year Brit Hume won Fox its first award from the NPF.

Geneva Overholser, a veteran of several major newspapers and now a journalism professor, resigned from the Foundation’s board in protest.

Also read: Chris Wallace on Jon Stewart Flap: 'Here's What I Meant' 

Last year’s winner was NBC News’ Andrea Mitchell.

Newhouse's award is named after former Washington Post editor Ben Bradlee. The NPF cited Newhouse's oversight of Penn State's sexual abuse scandal in naming him for the honor.

The newspaper, located in the Pennsylvania capital, broke the story of Jerry Sandusky’s allegedly illicit activities, resulting in a criminal trial and the dismissal of legendary coach Joe Paterno.

Here are the other winners:

Gary Fields and John R. Emshwiller of the Wall Street Journal won the “Feddie” for reporting on federal regulation and its impact outside of Washington D.C.. This is the second year that award has been given out. The duo won it for a series titled “Federal Offense,” which showed how people trip up on unfamiliar laws.

Bloomberg reporters John Crewdson, Allison Fitzgerald, Jonathan D. Salant, Charles R. Babcock and Kristin Jensen will receive the Everett McKinley Dirksen Award for Distinguished Reporting on Congress while the New Yorker’s Ryan Lizza received an Honorable Mention.

David Wilna of NPR is the recipient of the Dirksen for non-print journalists.

HPF will give Lucy Daglish, executive director of the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, the W.M. Kiplinger Award for Distinguished Contributions to Journalism.

The Houston Chronicle’s Nick Anderson was chosen as the best cartoonist (the Berryman Award) while won the Excellence in Online Journalism Award.

The NPF was established in 1976. The March awards dinner will be its 29th annual such affair. Related Articles:  Fox News Re-Signs Chris Wallace to Multi-Year Contract Chris Wallace on Jon Stewart Flap: 'Here's What I Meant'

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below