August 12, 2009 / 6:45 PM / 9 years ago

FACTBOX-Final results of Fatah Central Committee vote

(Refiles fixing typo in second paragraph)

BETHLEHEM, West Bank, Aug 12 (Reuters) - Fatah, the long-dominant Palestinian political movement, has elected a new Central Committee. Here are the final and official results as published by the election commission on Wednesday.

The commission chose 19 candidates after a re-count found a close vote, rather than 18 as initially planned, adding Tayyeb Abdel-Rahim, an aide to Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas.

Abbas, who was reaffirmed in his role as Fatah chairman last week, appoints people to a further three seats, of which one normally goes to a woman and one to a Christian in addition to his seat as a member.

Abu Maher Ghneim - 1,368 votes:

Re-elected. Now 72, was early member in 1960s.

Mahmoud al-Aloul - 1,102:

Newly elected. Senior official in exile, later Nablus governor.

Marwan Barghouthi - 1,063:

Newly elected. At 50, charismatic figure of generation formed by 1980s uprising against occupation. Serving life in Israeli jail for killings in later Intifada started in 2000.

Naser al-Kidwa - 964:

Yasser Arafat's nephew and former envoy to United Nations. Newly elected. 50.

Salim al-Zanoun - 920:


Jibril Rajoub - 908:

Former security chief. Newly elected.

Tawfiq al-Tirawi - 903:

Former intelligence chief. Newly elected.

Saeb Erekat - 863:

Peace negotiator and former academic. Newly elected.

Othman Abu Gharbiyeh - 854:

Congress chairman. Newly elected.

Mohammed Dahlan - 853:

Former security chief, hated by Hamas. Newly elected.

Mohammed al-Madani - 821:

Former Bethlehem governor. Newly elected.

Jamal Muheisen - 733:

Nablus governor. Newly elected.

Hussein al-Sheikh - 726:

Palestinian Authority official. Newly elected.

Azzam al-Ahmad - 690:

Fatah parliamentary leader. Newly elected.

Sultan Abu al-Enein - 677:

Leads Fatah among Palestinian refugees in Lebanon. Newly elected but now only foreign-based Central Committee member.

Tayyeb Abdel-Rahim - 663:

He served as Presidency General Secretary for Arafat and continued with same position under Abbas. Re-elected.

Abbas Zaki - 642:

Another long-serving Central Committee member. Re-elected.

Nabil Shaath - 641:

Veteran Fatah official and negotiator. Re-elected.

Mohammad Shtayyeh - 641:

Minister for housing and public works. Newly elected.

(Compiled by Mohammed Assadi)

(For blogs and links on Israeli politics and other Israeli and Palestinian news, go to

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below