Twelve senators named to Wall Street reform panel

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Twelve senior U.S. senators, including Senate Banking Committee Chairman Christopher Dodd and Agriculture Committee Chairman Blanche Lincoln, were named on Tuesday to a conference committee that will finalize a sweeping rewrite of financial regulations.

The 12 will have to work out differences between Wall Street reform bills that were approved by the Senate last week and the House of Representatives in December. The final version will be sent to President Barack Obama to be signed into law.

Along with Dodd and Lincoln, other Democratic senators on the panel include: Tim Johnson, Charles Schumer, Tom Harkin, Patrick Leahy and Jack Reed, according to a statement from the office of Senate Democratic Leader Harry Reid.

Republicans on the panel include: Richard Shelby, Mike Crapo, Judd Gregg, Saxby Chambliss and Bob Corker.

Reporting by Kevin Drawbaugh; Editing by Dan Grebler